Welcome to the Achaea Forums! Please be sure to read the Forum Rules.

Quick Questions

1379381383384385

Comments

  • DochithaDochitha Member Posts: 1,408 @ - Epic Achaean
    edited July 9
    Gror said:
    Okay. How does dual cutting work in general? Afflictions kind of turn me off but I guess if it just throws out some hindrance that would be okay. How does it compare to dual blunt? Not sure what blunt can all do.
    DWC afflictions can hinder, and both paralysis and nausea are important for parry bypass while you prep. Dual blunt does not have affliction output, you do have a window to bypass parry with expend. Prep is quick, damage is a tonne, and you do well with arties, and you probably need both flails and stars, cos both of them are useful! most people's problem is surviving the heavy hinder and affliction pressure since dual blunt has no affliction to hinder back.
  • NumiraNumira Member Posts: 101 ✭✭✭ - Distinguished
    Gror said:

    Afflictions kind of turn me off 
    I feel this quite a bit.  :s  Lots of affs plus limb prep = probably not the easiest spec to have start with, but whatevs. 
    Ryx
  • GrorGror Member Posts: 62 ✭✭ - Stalwart
    Numira said: hi
    Gror said:

    Afflictions kind of turn me off 
    I feel this quite a bit.  :s  Lots of affs plus limb prep = probably not the easiest spec to have start with, but whatevs. 
    Yeah, I would literally never be able to track them with anything I would know how to code. I guess throwing out a few to aid while prepping would be tolerable but anything more for me is not in the realm of possibility.

     Dochitha said:
    Gror said:
    Okay. How does dual cutting work in general? Afflictions kind of turn me off but I guess if it just throws out some hindrance that would be okay. How does it compare to dual blunt? Not sure what blunt can all do.
    DWC afflictions can hinder, and both paralysis and nausea are important for parry bypass while you prep. Dual blunt does not have affliction output, you do have a window to bypass parry with expend. Prep is quick, damage is a tonne, and you do well with arties, and you probably need both flails and stars, cos both of them are useful! most people's problem is surviving the heavy hinder and affliction pressure since dual blunt has no affliction to hinder back.
    Needing more than one weapon is a drawback for my poor self. Been leaning towards 2h but have been told it's not a good specc for infernal so am considering other options. What do you think is probably the easiest for a major noob?
  • PyoriPyori Member Posts: 1,740 @ - Epic Achaean
    edited July 9
    Gror said:
     Been leaning towards 2h but have been told it's not a good specc for infernal so am considering other options. What do you think is probably the easiest for a major noob?
    2h 'works' for infernal. It's not as good as Runewarden, or as pointless as Paladin, but it works. Beyond that, if you're wanting to learn to fight then ... Not knight, would be a good recommendation if you can't get two weapons. DWC/DWB are both pretty poor without them. Workable, but still horrible. I think Proficy tried out 2h infernal and did okay with it. SnB infernal is alright for locks (but said locks are RNG due to maggots), but SnB is beyond atrocious for hunting. It works just fine without artifact weapons, though... But you said you hate keeping track of afflictions, so there's that :P

  • GrorGror Member Posts: 62 ✭✭ - Stalwart
    Pyori said:
    Gror said:
     Been leaning towards 2h but have been told it's not a good specc for infernal so am considering other options. What do you think is probably the easiest for a major noob?
    2h 'works' for infernal. It's not as good as Runewarden, or as pointless as Paladin, but it works. Beyond that, if you're wanting to learn to fight then ... Not knight, would be a good recommendation if you can't get two weapons. DWC/DWB are both pretty poor without them. Workable, but still horrible. I think Proficy tried out 2h infernal and did okay with it. SnB infernal is alright for locks (but said locks are RNG due to maggots), but SnB is beyond atrocious for hunting. It works just fine without artifact weapons, though... But you said you hate keeping track of afflictions, so there's that :P
    Well, I suppose two level 2s is as realistic as one level 3. I'm mostly intrigued by cutting now because I had a lot of fun with lunge at one point, and the fire plane scabbard is very cool and a good fit for gror. I dont really know anything else about how it plays though.

    No interest in snb fortunately. 
  • PyoriPyori Member Posts: 1,740 @ - Epic Achaean
    Level 2s are fine for dual cutting. Technically speaking if you're going for DSB (not recommended as Infernal) or Vivisect, the only aff you "need" to stick is nausea, to bypass their parrying. You don't really need to use a tracker or anything, just highlight their tree and ginseng eats (kelp as well once you get the hang of it, and start sticking more affs). Curare will help alleviate a lot of hassle with sticking affs.

  • FarrahFarrah Member, Secret Squirrel Posts: 2,465 @@ - Legendary Achaean
    Proficy still plays 2h infernal and does well with it. I wouldn't say it's bad.
  • PyoriPyori Member Posts: 1,740 @ - Epic Achaean
    Didn't say it was bad, just that Runewarden works better.

  • TorbenTorben Member Posts: 17 ✭✭ - Stalwart
    Is there a way to place items in a room that are non-decay but not resetting? Non-decayed a couple of the items from the world fair that'd look great in my house, but I can't flame them to prevent random people picking them up from a security point of view.
    Ryx
  • SkyeSkye The Duchess BellatereMember, Seafaring Liason Posts: 3,024 @@ - Legendary Achaean
    you can email customisations to have the items made resetting to a particular room. You can get the room IDs by doing HOUSING <HOUSEID> LIST ROOMS iirc. Just check HOUSING for the right syntax, I'm a little bad with syntaxes haha. 


    Torben
  • ProficyProficy Member Posts: 387 ✭✭✭✭ - Eminent
    Gror said:
    Okay. How does dual cutting work in general? Afflictions kind of turn me off but I guess if it just throws out some hindrance that would be okay. How does it compare to dual blunt? Not sure what blunt can all do.
    Dual blunt is all about your defensive game, gotta be able to survive there output since you cant really slow them down till you try your finisher ... or pre break a limb making you have to reset it up to go for your finisher
  • TorbenTorben Member Posts: 17 ✭✭ - Stalwart
    Skye said:
    you can email customisations to have the items made resetting to a particular room. You can get the room IDs by doing HOUSING <HOUSEID> LIST ROOMS iirc. Just check HOUSING for the right syntax, I'm a little bad with syntaxes haha. 
    Thanks!
  • SiduriSiduri Member Posts: 1,587 @@ - Legendary Achaean
    "Sadly, you aren't able to act out something that complicated."

    Is this new? I keep getting it constantly when emotes are longer than two-three lines.

    image
  • PyoriPyori Member Posts: 1,740 @ - Epic Achaean
    Example of something returning that? I haven't ran into anything like that and all, and routinely do wordy emotes.

  • DavokDavok Member Posts: 55 ✭✭✭ - Distinguished
    It might have something to do with using one too many targeted variables in an emote ($Siduri, $Siduri_he, etc.)
  • SiduriSiduri Member Posts: 1,587 @@ - Legendary Achaean
    edited July 10
    There were no targetted variables involved. It was a generic 'expression, action. "Something", she whispers.'

    I've been docked credibility points for noting in a shout that what the Ashtan bunch did was exactly what was meant to be removed with the deletion of forceboarding.

    However, emote limitations are not listed as a possible credibility loss consequence, so that confuses me. Normally I don't have that issue.

    image
  • SophiSophi Rally PointMember Posts: 78 ✭✭✭ - Distinguished
    You're not allowed to have emotions sorry
  • KresslackKresslack Florida, United StatesMember Posts: 6,248 @@ - Legendary Achaean
    Sophi is a Cylon, confirmed.


  • GrorGror Member Posts: 62 ✭✭ - Stalwart
    Kresslack said:
    Sophi is a Cylon, confirmed.
    *queue all along the watchtower*
  • DochithaDochitha Member Posts: 1,408 @ - Epic Achaean
    edited July 12
    Message #2655       Sent by Achaea
    2019/7/12/1:06 Your bug report (detail: URGENT: My Alchemist has Sublimation selected and Hashan
    banned it, now I cannot go back to Formulation cos the FIELD is within the tree. please restore my 
    alchemist formulation. Thank you.) - has been removed because it is not a bug (usually meaning that 
    this is the way things are intended to be). Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience or 
    misunderstanding that may be involved. The following notes were included: Wellspring bans have no 
    impact on whether or not you can switch fields.

    Problem is, I can't access the FIELD syntax to change my field back to Formulation. I don't have the 3rd skillset at all...

    Any ideas how can I solve this? @Makarios
  • RhivonaRhivona Member, Moderator Posts: 139 Moderator
    Dochitha said:
    Message #2655       Sent by Achaea
    2019/7/12/1:06 Your bug report (detail: URGENT: My Alchemist has Sublimation selected and Hashan
    banned it, now I cannot go back to Formulation cos the FIELD is within the tree. please restore my 
    alchemist formulation. Thank you.) - has been removed because it is not a bug (usually meaning that 
    this is the way things are intended to be). Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience or 
    misunderstanding that may be involved. The following notes were included: Wellspring bans have no 
    impact on whether or not you can switch fields.

    Problem is, I can't access the FIELD syntax to change my field back to Formulation. I don't have the 3rd skillset at all...

    Any ideas how can I solve this? Makarios
    The phrasing of the bug implied it was related to the wellspring ban - which it is not. Noting how you have not been in alchemist at any time where we checked, we were not able to confirm the missing skill. To fix your issue, you will furthermore have to be online, and in Alchemist, to ensure a proper resolution.
    Dochitha
  • DochithaDochitha Member Posts: 1,408 @ - Epic Achaean
    Rhivona said:
    Dochitha said:
    Message #2655       Sent by Achaea
    2019/7/12/1:06 Your bug report (detail: URGENT: My Alchemist has Sublimation selected and Hashan
    banned it, now I cannot go back to Formulation cos the FIELD is within the tree. please restore my 
    alchemist formulation. Thank you.) - has been removed because it is not a bug (usually meaning that 
    this is the way things are intended to be). Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience or 
    misunderstanding that may be involved. The following notes were included: Wellspring bans have no 
    impact on whether or not you can switch fields.

    Problem is, I can't access the FIELD syntax to change my field back to Formulation. I don't have the 3rd skillset at all...

    Any ideas how can I solve this? Makarios
    The phrasing of the bug implied it was related to the wellspring ban - which it is not. Noting how you have not been in alchemist at any time where we checked, we were not able to confirm the missing skill. To fix your issue, you will furthermore have to be online, and in Alchemist, to ensure a proper resolution.
    @Rhivona, thank you, you resolved it! I got the 3rd skill tree back.
  • JiraishinJiraishin skulkingMember Posts: 2,028 @@ - Legendary Achaean
    What causes variation in repair costs for jewellery? I thought it was just number of months left, but the desert glass pendant from the Fair costs 1k to repair from 30 months, while the evileye bracelet costs 31k to repair at the same decay time.
    ________________________
    The soul of Ashmond says, "Always with the sniping."
  • MroxylMroxyl Member Posts: 125 ✭✭✭ - Distinguished
    edited July 14
    @Jiraishin my understanding is that it's based on the original price to make it, so something that had a crafting cost of 2k, would cost less than something with a crafting cost of 20k.


    Edit from the help jewellery file:

    Repairing a piece of jewellery will cost you a minimum of 1000 gold and will
    increase depending upon the original crafting cost of the item and how much
    damage needs to be repaired.
    JiraishinSiduri
  • JiraishinJiraishin skulkingMember Posts: 2,028 @@ - Legendary Achaean
    Damn but that must have been an expensive bracelet.
    ________________________
    The soul of Ashmond says, "Always with the sniping."
    RyxSiduri
  • AyaniAyani Member Posts: 52 ✭✭✭ - Distinguished
    I know Death's Call can resurrect all non-boss denizens. Does that mean it wont work for any named denizens or just wont work for the big guys like Zsarachnor? I am looking to see if it's worth it from a quest standpoint. If anyone has clarification, I'd appreciate it. Thanks in advance!
  • AntoniusAntonius Member Posts: 4,907 @@ - Legendary Achaean
    Ayani said:
    I know Death's Call can resurrect all non-boss denizens. Does that mean it wont work for any named denizens or just wont work for the big guys like Zsarachnor? I am looking to see if it's worth it from a quest standpoint. If anyone has clarification, I'd appreciate it. Thanks in advance!
    For the purposes of Death's Call, a "boss" denizen is anything that is immune to critical hits. If you can get crits on it, it will generally get brought back by Death's Call.
    AyaniDochitha
  • CooperCooper Member Posts: 5,211 @@ - Legendary Achaean
    In general, if a mob can be critically hit they will resurrect with Death's Call.

    It would be good to ask someone to help you test some, or do an issue me so you're 100% sure.

    AyaniSiduri
  • CailinCailin Member Posts: 344 ✭✭✭ - Distinguished
    Do carts no longer give stasis? I had some cart wares apparently decay.
  • ArmaliArmali Member, Secret Squirrel Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭✭✭ - Grand Achaean
    Where exactly can you recevie mail?
Sign In to Comment.