Quick Coding Questions

Comments

• @Cen the NDB and mapper extras can really bog down Mudlet.
  • I've experienced slow down a lot when gagging a lot of stuff
    Deucalion says, "Torinn is quite nice."
  • Hm. I only use the mapper, SVO, and some simple aliases and gagging. I'm a terrible coder, so it's certainly not any problems with overly complex scripts of my own.
  • One thing that I had to fix for the same issue was using the wrong type when making triggers. I was using Perl regex on everything, instead of substring etc when I could have. Changing that made a big difference. 

In some one of my older triggers, I was trying to match every single word the game was putting out. Once I went through and fixed all that, it made pretty big improvements. Check your stuff out, could have a few errant ones.

Penwize has cowardly forfeited the challenge to mortal combat issued by Atalkez.
  • Using a lot of isPrompt() triggers can cause problems. Particularly if you leave them on all the time as opposed to activating/deactivating them conditionally.

Another thing I have issues with is the alertness trigger (I think it's the mapper) - if a group of people enter adjacent and then my room immediately then I may as well go make a cup of tea. 

Have literally only just finished removing it and replacing it with my own version that doesn't plug into the mapper at all and am already seeing a difference. 

If I think of any others (that aren't already mentioned above) I'll hit ya with them in a message.
         He is a coward who has to bring two friends as backup to jump people hunting.

• I echo the isPrompt statement.  Also had slowness from that. 
  • Luckily for me, having an average of 1 second latency alleviates all possible mudlet slowdowns. Just get worse internet!
  • Any chance I can get help updating svo's magi limb counter to work?
  • Kaden said:
    Any chance I can get help updating svo's magi limb counter to work?