Ranged combat now.

I started playing Achaea less and less as I grew to play other games, but as I went into nursing school, it pretty much put the nail in the coffin. As I'm wrapping that up, I'm trying to catch up on all of the exciting changes I've missed, and apparently area-wide attacks and range got hit pretty hard. If you'll oblige an older player on some catching up, just what skills changed? How are they now? What skills are the same? And as a special request, since I've never fully looked into either of these.. how exactly does kai choke work now, and what exactly does snipe do? I remember Kai choke getting some grace cooldown something ages ago.

Sorry for the broad request, just sort of wanting to know the state of things, what's still area wide, what's not, and how the new things are. Thank you for any and all information!

-Tel

Comments

• MishgulMishgul Trondheim, Norway
    I don't think there is anything that is "area wide" except certain specific non-damage telepathy attacks. Things like cataclysm, star, thurisaz and meteor were made to be within x rooms, with no respect to area boundaries, and things like kai choke, mind crush, are now line of sight. Snipe is a more accurate "shoot" i believe.

-

One of the symptoms of an approaching nervous breakdown is the belief that one's work is terribly important

As drawn by Shayde
    hic locus est ubi mors gaudet succurrere vitae
  • Mishgul said:
    I don't think there is anything that is "area wide" except certain specific non-damage telepathy attacks. Things like cataclysm, star, thurisaz and meteor were made to be within x rooms, with no respect to area boundaries, and things like kai choke, mind crush, are now line of sight. Snipe is a more accurate "shoot" i believe.
    :( Cata isn't area wide anymore? That's.. really quite depressing actually. Hrm.. so do they have varying room distance, or do they all adhere to like.. five rooms for instance?
    (Now I'm kind of worrying about vodun as well.)