Getting the newbie experience back

Now I'll go ahead and say I've been playing this wonderful game off and on for bout 6 years now. I came back the other day and decided i'd create a new character. Now back when I first started playing the newbie experience was great. Starting out as a druid you'd be pulled out into the wilderness with a few other newbies. learn a few lessons get taught to burrow by an older druid sticking a shirt in the ground and you'd go get it. Morph a few times but mainly you'd be interacting with someone and learning the beginnings of playing your character and in your chosen house. These were some of my favorite moments in Achaea. I tried out a lot of cities and finally decided on Ashtan. Made a shaman, got took on hunting parties, sat in ashtan cursing my mentor and whoever else dared to step in the Deli of Disaster while I was "learning curses". So starting out in Achaea back in the day was made so much fun from all the interactions I had with other players.

So now i'm back started a new character, different name, different class, and having fun. But i'm noticing that the experience I had before as a new player just ain't their anymore. I feel like the new folks are learning the hard way not the fun way. Sure any help I needed I could ask and assistance would be to me momentarily. Hell I had a Jester from a different city come sit with me while I was transing out pranks. But beyond that the new player experience I had before just isn't around anymore.

I've been gone to long to figure out what happened or why. I just need to know what I need to do to give new players the same experience I had. Because in all honesty I wouldn't be playing this game today or writing this long post if it wasn't for all those friendly folks who spent so much time with new players back in the day.

Comments