Steering and being steered by RP

Hello everyone. I am fairly new to RP on this scale. I have created a couple Achaea characters over the last few months because my friend turned me onto the game. However, before this I mostly just played DND and that was it, a small group of friends and one guy or gal playing a vast cast.

Obviously this is different.

Razzlo is young so I still see him being shaped by his experiences, but I also am beginning to see a plan of where I want him to go. My issue is when I should follow my vision or let him be steered elsewhere by his surroundings. I mean, there are always going to be hard and set limits in RP through rules and community pressure. I could not be a Mhaldorian Priest or an Apostate that was down with the Bloodsworn Gods and if I created a seven foot tall dwarf without a good reason than I would not be taken seriously by the community as a whole. These restrictions I get and wholeheartedly support because that is what gives the game that feel of authenticity.

I also get in a game where I play with multiple people I am not always going to 'win' or get what I want. If I fight someone I may lose...if I ran for office I could get fall out. Actions not always going as I would prefer.

I just want to know when it is best to let the world steer Razzlo, and when I should steer Razzlo. An example being choosing if it is okay to fall in line with an organizations softer viewpoints or going with your own actions. Such as hunting a race where you have a large amount of people telling you not to. Not getting full in line with a changing sentiments in a city or organization, or going to a different path such as a new organization or fighting hard to keep your view.

I guess what I would like are examples of RP dilemmas your character has faced and how you dealt with it? Or perhaps why you chose how you chose when you were faced with a choice that would take you away from how you wanted things to go for your character and why?