Welcome to the Achaea Forums! Please be sure to read the Forum Rules.

How is your ping?

StrataStrata United States of DerpMember Posts: 1,753 @ - Epic Achaean
edited February 2014 in Tech Support
How has your connection been in recent months? Achaea's ISP has been degrading it seems - with a smoke alarm causing downtimes and routine DDoS (usually targeted at pastebin), what are your thoughts? Should we ask (and maybe even somehow help) Achaea to find a new home?
image

How is your ping? 39 votes

My ping sucks but I don't mind.
15% 6 votes
Ping is great, please don't change anything.
20% 8 votes
I get lag spikes, but only during the evenings. It's meh.
41% 16 votes
It's awful. Please change providers ASAP.
23% 9 votes
«1

Comments

  • SenaSena Member Posts: 3,957 @@ - Legendary Achaean
    Consistently around 50-60ms for me, regardless of the time. I don't notice any lag spikes at all really, but then I'm also not usually bashing/fighting or doing anything else that would make lag really noticeable.
  • StrataStrata United States of DerpMember Posts: 1,753 @ - Epic Achaean
    Sena said:
    Consistently around 50-60ms for me, regardless of the time. I don't notice any lag spikes at all really, but then I'm also not usually bashing/fighting or doing anything else that would make lag really noticeable.
    I was a steady 30-50ms up until last weekend and have been at above 150ms with constant spikes since then. Traceroute shows ohio to california and then back to chicago, which makes sense only if there is some sort of network issue in between. Any high amount of spam (raiding) has become impossible and I'm at the point where I'm going to cancel IRE membership and go dormant until it's fixed. Will wait until the weekend and if nothing has changed, I'm outta here.
    image
    Rohe
  • RoheRohe Member Posts: 3
    150ms with constant spikes since I started playing. Same issues as what @Strata described in terms of the traceroute. I was thinking of getting an IRE membership but the lag is terrible for a low level newcomer to try to hunt in. I can't really see myself investing too much more time or money there if this is just the way things are here.
  • DaeirDaeir AustraliaMember Posts: 6,276 @@ - Legendary Achaean
    Lowest I've ever had was 170ms, but always at around 240-270 lately.

    Australia for you. There's a definite increase in my average ping lately though.
    Kyrra
  • TahquilTahquil Member Posts: 4,217 @@ - Legendary Achaean
    image
    My landline has been knocked out by Cyclone Dylan's rain for nearly 2 weeks now. Because it was the copious amount of rain that washed out the line and not the cyclone itself it's not a priority fix. Estimated fix date revised twice already to March 7th.
  • TharvisTharvis The Land of Beer and Chocolate!Member Posts: 3,107 @@ - Legendary Achaean
    the DDoS attack back then was of 400Gbps, extraordinarily big, shouldn't expect that too often
    Aurora says, "Tharvis, why are you always breaking things?!"
    Artemis says, "You are so high maintenance, Tharvis, gosh."
    Tecton says, "It's still your fault, Tharvis."

  • RexiaRexia Member Posts: 62 ✭✭✭ - Distinguished
    None of the options accurately reflect that my ping is fine, but I'm happy if it gets improved. Biased poll is biased.
  • TrevizeTrevize Member Posts: 1,517 @ - Epic Achaean
    Other than yesterday and occasional (read: less than once a day usually) lag spikes, and assuming my wife isn't downloading anything(:() my ping hovers between 20-70ms.
    Current scripts: GoldTracker 1.2, mData 1.1
    Site: https://github.com/trevize-achaea/scripts/releases
    Thread: http://forums.achaea.com/discussion/4064/trevizes-scripts
    Latest update: 9/26/2015 better character name handling in GoldTracker, separation of script and settings, addition of gold report and gold distribute aliases.
  • KatzchenKatzchen MhaldorMember Posts: 2,000 @@ - Legendary Achaean
    Ping is decent for overseas. 190-210 usually, with spikes. New Zealand though, so it's the same as it has been for a long time!


                   Honourable, knight eternal,

                                            Darkly evil, cruel infernal.

                                                                     Necromanctic to the core,

                                                                                             Dance with death forever more.



  • DunnDunn Member, Secret Squirrel Posts: 6,188 @@ - Legendary Achaean
    image

    Ah man.


  • ZincorZincor USAMember Posts: 49 ✭✭✭ - Distinguished
    .050 to .070 seems to be my usual.  
  • JovoloJovolo EnglandMember Posts: 3,163 @@ - Legendary Achaean
    image

    Oh man...

    Normally with achaea I get about 0.200 to 0.350 ping, but I haven't checked in forever. From England of course.
  • RakonRakon Member Posts: 267 ✭✭✭✭ - Eminent
  • SarapisSarapis Member, Administrator Posts: 3,398 Achaean staff
    edited February 2014
    image

    My ping to Achaea is normally 50-70 ms.
    Zincor
  • NemutaurNemutaur GermanyMember Posts: 1,068
    edited February 2014
    image

    Doesn't help with my ping to Achaea though, hovers between 120 to 250 ms most of the time.

    EDIt: I changed my settings to use a server in Chicago for my speed test, at least you get to see how the ping is then.

    image
  • StrataStrata United States of DerpMember Posts: 1,753 @ - Epic Achaean
    Nemutaur said:
    image

    Doesn't help with my ping to Achaea though, hovers between 120 to 250 ms most of the time.

    EDIt: I changed my settings to use a server in Chicago for my speed test, at least you get to see how the ping is then.

    image
    That's my ping to achaea and I live in Ohio.

     3  be21-1609.clmkohpe02r.midwest.rr.com (184.59.242.45)  40.432 ms  41.491 ms  42.092 ms 
     4  65.29.1.34 (65.29.1.34)  42.787 ms  43.531 ms  43.531 ms
     5  107.14.19.60 (107.14.19.60)  52.765 ms  53.968 ms  54.561 ms <-- this one is not healthy. TWC probably doesn't even know about it either. (they monitor jack and shit on their nets)
     6  bu-ether15.lsancarc0yw-bcr00.tbone.rr.com (66.109.6.227)  98.089 ms  75.937 ms  80.004 ms
     7  107.14.19.86 (107.14.19.86)  76.945 ms 107.14.19.118 (107.14.19.118)  89.251 ms  86.926 ms
     8  TenGigabitEthernet4-1.ar4.LAX1.gblx.net (64.209.93.65)  88.393 ms  89.205 ms  89.205 ms
     9  64.213.176.242 (64.213.176.242)  93.545 ms  94.607 ms  94.619 ms
    10  xe-2-3-0.er1.Chi2.Servernap.net (66.252.3.133)  93.413 ms  92.140 ms  94.472 ms
    11  po-12.csr2.Chi3.Servernap.net (66.252.0.69)  94.472 ms  80.109 ms  83.840 ms
    12  po-102.ddr1.Chi3.Servernap.net (66.252.0.130)  86.175 ms  84.927 ms  100.282 ms
    13  www.achaea.com (69.65.42.198)  104.959 ms  107.280 ms  108.401 ms <-- this is really good (but it's 1pm on a weekday - evenings it is unusable with 15 second spikes and stuff)

    For reference:
    image

    Speedtest is not really accurate in the states because ISP's do all sorts of nasty CDN tricks to fudge results to keep customers from complaining/filing lawsuits.
    image
  • TectonTecton The Garden of the GodsAdministrator Posts: 2,507 Admin
    While not an ideal route, the fact that you're at 40ms by the time you're at the third hop is kinda worrying - how are your first couple of hops? If you're playing on wifi and you've got some channel overlap with your neighbours or something, it could be pushing you up. Could try plugging in directly to your router and seeing if that improves things.
  • StrataStrata United States of DerpMember Posts: 1,753 @ - Epic Achaean
    Tecton said:
    While not an ideal route, the fact that you're at 40ms by the time you're at the third hop is kinda worrying - how are your first couple of hops? If you're playing on wifi and you've got some channel overlap with your neighbours or something, it could be pushing you up. Could try plugging in directly to your router and seeing if that improves things.
    It's definitely TWC's network. I spent 6 months dealing with TWC/my local franchising/FCC complaints for the two companies I do IT work for. We were able to get them to improve the RF side of things for our area but then hit a brick wall when we realized their core routers are severely overloaded and/or misconfigured. Combined with whatever problems gigenet is having, and it's a bleak situation.

    I have a VPS in chicago (that is possibly in the same building as achaea's provider), and the traceroute is good with latencies around 30ms. vpn overhead (haproxy or ssh tunnel wasn't noticeably better either) puts me right back up in the 150-200ms range.

    I am not sure why my ISP has decided to pass me through GBLX in Cali on the way to a provider in chicago that peers with several other companies offering much better paths. It happened once a few months ago and corrected itself after a few hours. This time it's been about 1.5 weeks now.

    All that tl;dr said, the high latency is not an issue. It's the inconsistency/packet loss that kills it.
    I have ssh sessions open to many places (work stuff) and they're all very responsive. Achaea is like mid-90's dialup with line-noise that causes 15+ second spikes or just d/c's me. I've done everything I can do. Cya'll next year or something. Peace.
    image
  • RakonRakon Member Posts: 267 ✭✭✭✭ - Eminent
    Tecton said:
     Could try plugging in directly to your router and seeing if that improves things.
    This is an option for some people with maybe only one device, like a desktop PC.. but more and more these days, people are playing/connecting to the net on WiFi. It's not really feasible to plug directly into a cable or DSL modem to play Achaea, and force all the other devices off. 

    I know it's not an issue with Achaea, but the rant with my connection is my speed literally drops in half when I'm on WiFi, and that's using a pretty decent prosumer router. Dual-band 802.11n, with 20/40MHz split and no other WiFi signals interfering :( X(

    Where the hell is my promised 150mbps wireless?!
  • StrataStrata United States of DerpMember Posts: 1,753 @ - Epic Achaean
    Rakon said:
    Tecton said:
     Could try plugging in directly to your router and seeing if that improves things.
    This is an option for some people with maybe only one device, like a desktop PC.. but more and more these days, people are playing/connecting to the net on WiFi. It's not really feasible to plug directly into a cable or DSL modem to play Achaea, and force all the other devices off. 

    I know it's not an issue with Achaea, but the rant with my connection is my speed literally drops in half when I'm on WiFi, and that's using a pretty decent prosumer router. Dual-band 802.11n, with 20/40MHz split and no other WiFi signals interfering :( X(

    Where the hell is my promised 150mbps wireless?!
    Ewww... Microtik. 802.11n is a complex beast that I barely understand myself. I'm pretty sure Microtik is Atheros exclusive so you might want to try Atheros in your devices and see if that fixes it. The wifi chipsets in both the router and your devices do funny things when you start using 802.11n. If you're sure your channel is clear, the problem is often some quirk in the chipset/firmware of one or both of the devices trying to talk to eachother. Sometimes it can be solved by fine-tuning some difficult-to-comprehend(for me at least) advanced settings in your router or OS (or both). Or the easier route (and more costly, obviously) is to just try different cards until you find one that plays nice.
    image
    Rakon
  • KaraiKarai Member Posts: 325 ✭✭✭✭✭ - Grand Achaean
    image

    image

    I don't notice a whole lot of lag usually, just during those massive events. Bal'met was completely unplayable but that was annoyingly understandable as well.
    image
  • AchillesAchilles Los AngelesMember Posts: 2,507 @@ - Legendary Achaean
    edited February 2014

    My office ping.  My home one not so bueno.

    image
    image
    Enraal
  • SilasSilas Member Posts: 2,543 @@ - Legendary Achaean
    dat upload speed doe

    Enraal
  • MelodieMelodie Port Saint Lucie, FloridaMember Posts: 5,012 @@ - Legendary Achaean
    It is a crazy world when your upload speed is better than your download.

    Craaaazy.
               My wing tips waltz across naive
                     Wood floors they creak
                  Innocently down the stairs

                          Drag melody
    My percussive feet serve cobweb headaches as a
              Matching set of marching clocks
                The slumbering apparitions
              That they've come to wake up
  • SantarSantar Member Posts: 2,382 @@ - Legendary Achaean
    I only have 6 megabit download, 512 kilobit upload, and my ping to achaea is about 25-30.

    I also live pretty far from the servers.

    image

  • JonathinJonathin Grand Rapids, MIMember Posts: 3,323 @@ - Legendary Achaean
    edited February 2014
    image

    My script parsing takes longer than my ping on Wifi going through a mirror and a wet wall.

    ETA*50: I figured out pictures.


    My site will remain up, but will not be maintained. The repository will continue to have scripts added to it if I decide to play another game. Maybe I'll see you around in Starmourn!
    Tutorials and scripts  The Repository

  • EldEld Member Posts: 3,946 @@ - Legendary Achaean
    Should've grabbed the link for the one from my office with 94 Mb/s up and down and a 1ms ping.  At home where I actually play:
    image

     3  te-0-2-0-10-ur08.seattle.wa.seattle.comcast.net (68.85.144.153)  21.076 ms  21.912 ms  22.050 ms
     4  ae-20-0-ar03.seattle.wa.seattle.comcast.net (69.139.164.129)  24.402 ms  25.168 ms  23.539 ms
     5  he-1-4-0-0-10-cr01.seattle.wa.ibone.comcast.net (68.86.94.237)  25.784 ms he-1-7-0-0-11-cr01.seattle.wa.ibone.comcast.net (68.86.93.5)  26.795 ms he-1-7-0-0-10-cr01.seattle.wa.ibone.comcast.net (68.86.91.165)  31.657 ms
     6  be-13-pe03.seattle.wa.ibone.comcast.net (68.86.84.110)  27.813 ms  14.389 ms  16.524 ms
     7  as174.seattle.wa.ibone.comcast.net (66.208.228.110)  60.928 ms  60.429 ms  64.130 ms
     8  be2085.ccr21.slc01.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.2.198)  49.128 ms  55.432 ms  54.020 ms
     9  be2126.ccr21.den01.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.25.65)  50.241 ms  55.530 ms  55.234 ms
    10  be2130.ccr22.mci01.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.26.122)  116.697 ms be2129.mpd21.mci01.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.26.114)  122.241 ms be2130.ccr22.mci01.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.26.122)  121.989 ms
    11  be2157.ccr22.ord01.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.6.118)  134.570 ms be2159.mpd22.ord01.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.24.82)  136.215 ms be2158.mpd21.ord01.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.7.130)  137.858 ms
    12  be2004.ccr21.ord03.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.5.10)  124.205 ms * be2006.ccr21.ord03.atlas.cogentco.com (154.54.5.18)  126.127 ms
    13  te-3-3-50.er1.Chi1.Servernap.net (66.252.3.172)  78.284 ms  78.148 ms  80.877 ms
    14  po-11.csr1.Chi3.Servernap.net (66.252.0.73)  67.687 ms  70.885 ms  63.734 ms
    15  po-101.ddr1.Chi3.Servernap.net (66.252.0.134)  65.120 ms  77.711 ms  79.460 ms
    16  www.achaea.com (69.65.42.198)  78.386 ms  79.170 ms  71.182 ms

    That's pretty standard. I occasionally get some lag spikes, but nothing that seems particularly unusual. Haven't been playing to speak of for the last couple weeks when it seems like people have been complaining more, though.
  • DaeirDaeir AustraliaMember Posts: 6,276 @@ - Legendary Achaean
    edited February 2014
    image

      3    11 ms    10 ms    14 ms  58.160.11.2
      4    13 ms    19 ms    19 ms  58.160.15.226
      5    18 ms    12 ms    12 ms  ken-edge902Sydney.lnk.telstra.net [139.130.190.173]
      6    16 ms    14 ms    18 ms  bundle-ether14.ken-core4.sydney.telstra.net [203.50.11.96]
      7    15 ms    22 ms    14 ms  bundle-ether1.pad-gw2.sydney.telstra.net [203.50.6.29]
      8    19 ms    15 ms    14 ms  203.50.9.54
      9   169 ms   150 ms   150 ms  i-0-4-0-5.paix-core01.bx.telstraglobal.net [202.84.143.157]
     10   150 ms   153 ms   154 ms  i-0-4-0-5.paix02.bi.telstraglobal.net [202.40.149.54]
     11   201 ms   198 ms   198 ms  206.111.12.81.ptr.us.xo.net [206.111.12.81]
     12   249 ms   250 ms   238 ms  207.88.13.233.ptr.us.xo.net [207.88.13.233]
     13   248 ms   249 ms   248 ms  te-3-0-0.rar3.denver-co.us.xo.net [207.88.12.57]
     14   255 ms   251 ms   251 ms  te-4-1-0.rar3.chicago-il.us.xo.net [207.88.12.21]
     15   237 ms   236 ms   235 ms  ae0d0.mcr1.chicago-il.us.xo.net [216.156.0.162]
     16   256 ms   251 ms   257 ms  ae1d0.mcr2.chicago-il.us.xo.net [216.156.1.82]
     17   246 ms   249 ms   255 ms  te-4-3.er1.Chi1.Servernap.net [66.252.3.168]
     18   205 ms   201 ms   200 ms  po-11.csr1.Chi3.Servernap.net [66.252.0.73]
     19   201 ms   201 ms   202 ms  po-101.ddr1.Chi3.Servernap.net [66.252.0.134]
     20   205 ms   209 ms   200 ms  www.achaea.com [69.65.42.198]

    i weep.
  • OrzaansynOrzaansyn Member Posts: 663 @@ - Legendary Achaean
    I have grade F. Slower than 92% of my country.
    image
Sign In to Comment.