New Alchemist

Hi guys, I'm new to Achaea. I spent about seven hours yesterday getting to know the game. I managed to reach level twenty, and joined the city of Mhaldor. After a conversation to Romeo, I decided to choose alchemist. However I am wondering if the Alchemist is worth embracing. Are they good in combat like raids on a city? Is transmutation an actually valuable skill?

Comments

• Transmutation is extremely valuable as it's how you create curatives. As for combat, I'm not really good with combat as it is, as combat itself is very complex. I enjoy it a lot but the biggest piece of advice I can give is to go with a class that goes with your RP. Trilliana's a scientific mind, so alchemist suits her (after playing 5+ years, finally found a class that suits her RP!)
    meh

• edited May 2013
    Is Transmutation more useful than just buying cures and having a third combat skill tree?
  • SkyeSkye The Duchess Bellatere
    well... I won't lie, most players seem to prefer other classes for combat.

On the flip side though, curatives are in high demand especially in Mhaldor. In exchange for transing that one skill, provided you're willing to work at mostly just curatives, you can earn your money back fairly quickly along with a fair amount of gold that you can use to trans your other skills with little to no RL monetary investment. Of course it's not as fast as whipping out your credit card, but the option is always open.

• Once you get better at earning gold, it will be far faster and cheaper to buy minerals than to make them yourself. Tonics and balms, on the other hand, will be far cheaper to make yourself, and being able to refill your own vials from anywhere is extremely convenient.

Transmutation as a source of income (rather than just making cures to use yourself) is rather poor, unless you can get a lot of tonic/balm orders. It's still a very easy and reliable way of getting gold though, even if it's not very lucrative.