Scrub-friendly classes

I'm admittedly very bad at combat. This is the first MUD I've ever played, and I have zero coding knowledge. I don't really have the time or the inclination to learn about intense scripting or practice complex strategies when I could be playing other aspects of the game that I enjoy much more, but at the same time I would like to be able to be at least marginally useful during raid defense and such. I have pretty much no interest in 1v1 at all. My question is, what's a class I could play that would allow me to be passable (not great) at combat with minimal knowledge of the ins and outs, preferably a magic-y one? I definitely don't imagine my grook swinging a sword around, to say the least. I recently switched to shaman for RP reasons but...yeah.

I was thinking Magi? Doesn't seem too crazy aside from retardation, and I could work on that.

Props to all the wizard combatants out there. This stuff takes dedication.

Comments

• For Hashan, Magi and Alchemist are probably the easiest. Shaman is relatively easy, but does require quite a bit of effort.

• If you have no interest in top tier 1v1 Occultist is the shit. Amazing flavor, huge unartied damage, great support and utility in tarot. Wouldn't need Domination if you want to be frugal. Maybe Chimera for flight.

It's an amazing class at low tier. Down the years, it can dominate top tier as well, as you inevitably pick up experience and some scripts. 
  • I think magi is what you want. You can get by with a limb counter or counting in your head. Keeping track of burn levels might be slightly difficult but I think there are scripts out there for that.

[ SnB PvP Guide | Link ]

[ Runewarden Sparring Videos | Link ]
  • I don't think Magi is that simple beyond the damage capabilities, tbh. There's a decent amount to track with room effects, entities, etc. Their damage is nice, though.

• I found monk to be a pretty easy class to pick up. I can count in my head with it too
  • edited August 2016