Themed Shops

edited September 2012 in The Scarlattan Theatre
Not sure if this is the right place for this, but, what do you all think of Themed Shops? I know some people seem to use their Shops for selling different things (such as Jewelry or Food), and some Cities seem to sell more of certain types of items than others, such as Cyrene selling clothing more suited to keeping you warm in colder climates. Do you think you would make more gold if people new to go to YOUR store for certain things as opposed to shopping around (it might be more convenient too)?

Comments

• edited September 2012
    Tahquil answered the question about as concisely as possible.

To elaborate a bit on why I agree - all my characters, since I started playing in about 2003/2004 have at some point shopped in Modern Man in Delos (okay, bar one female character, but that's irrelevant) purely for the reason that the shop generally stocks a range of male clothing and will have at least one or two items that my character can use. If I go there, I have a good idea what I'll get.

Some shops seem to have a poor idea of what they're about and I'll generally not remember them if I don't see a consistent type of stock. If I need a gem of negation, I know I'll always check a certain shop in Hashan first, because it's reliably stocked. If I want sigils, there are two shops I always go to, because they're consistent.

The key really is to decide what you sell and make sure you always have it available. Consistency and reliability are what I look for when shopping and having a good reputation is, in my opinion, a great way to reach that point where you finish clawing back the unholy sum of money you paid for the shop and see some real profits.
  • Tahquil said:
    Yes.
    QFT

Luhar said:
    Tahquil answered the question about as concisely as possible.