Why did you start playing? Why did you stay?

The title pretty much says it all. How did you come to start playing MUDs? Achaea specifically?

What about this MUD has kept you playing it?
"Under all that we think, lives all that we believe, like the ultimate veil of our spirits." --Antonio Machado
"The belief that becomes truth for me is that which allows me the best use of my strength, the best means of putting my virtues into action." --Andre Gide
"It is not enough to have a good mind; the main thing is to use it well."  --Rene Descartes

Comments

• Hmm, I started playing a long time ago...2004 or 2005 maybe? Might have been 2006....I just remember being confused on what was going on the text thing I got but I had no idea what RP was and it was great. Of course getting myself financially established took precedence!

I learned a ton about RP over the years away and with the death of COV I am back because WoW is too easy, EVE s too griefy and I want to have fun that is creative and interesting. Not fight some all mightily powerful bad guy who wants to destroy the world all the time! Srsly! Leave the world be for a minute!

To me I stay because this game is similar in idea to EVE in that you can do almost whatever you feel like doing with consequences for your actions! Fun consequences and a true form of history you can record and interact with! Yay Achaea!

• Accursed Lands gave me my first taste of MUDness, and from then I was hooked. Cousin told me to roll a toon on Achaea and from the very first log-in I was got. Never looked back.
    Tvistor: If that was a troll, it was masterful.
    I take my hat off to you.
  • AlcinaeAlcinae AFK
    edited May 2013