Tips on roleplaying?

edited April 2013 in The Scarlattan Theatre
I am not good at roleplaying at all so if anyone could give me some pointers on how to create it, that would be awesome.

Comments

• Thank you @Nizaris for the help, I will learn from this.
  • I really like @Nizaris' point about 'sprinkling in' TMOTEs as you interact - that is what you can also do with other aspects of your character to give him more realism within the world he inhabits.

Who is Zael? What are his ambitions and motivations? Why? What is his personality like? Once you start to answer these sorts of questions about your character, you can then bounce off the situations you encounter from there. This ties in with Nizaris' point about evolving your story, each time you're met with a choice and make a decision, it is a way to impact your character.

It's the little things too, like quirks and preferences. For instance, Sybilla is left-handed. Now that doesn't mean she goes on a tirade about right-bound journals, scabbards and quills, you'd probably not even realise she was in fact, but when she goes to wield something she'll pick the left first. She prefers fish to red meat. She thinks Tsol'aa are better at writing than other races (calligraphy-wise at least). She has a soft-spot for atavians which hasn't always been a good thing for her...

There's a myriad of ways you can flesh it out, and that's how it helps to develop it. If you were a person in the world/canon of Achaea, who would you be? Zael is Ashtani and in the Ashura (I think?), why is that? Start from the bigger points that define him and work down from there.

Also, check out the DATE, TIME and FORECAST, it's good for when you're stuck and can just gripe about the weather at this time of year...
  • Griping about the weather is an excellent icebreaker. I went to Cyrene and gripped about the weather, and left as a member of Scarlatti's lay Order. Was good.
  • ShirszaeShirszae Santo Domingo