I am newbie: hear me ... ?

(I composed this over a period of about a week and changed my stance and understanding of a thing or two in that time, so please forgive the disjointed nature of this post.)

I've been playing Achaea for about a month now and I love it.  I love the depth of history and culture the game sports.  I, the player, actually have to study to advance in my house ranks.  My inner bookworm (okay, so it's not that inner actually) is in love.  

I am somewhat new to MUDs: I played on a MUD around '95 and enjoyed it, though it had nowhere near the depth present here.  I have played on MUSHes and other RP-centric games for the last ten years or so, and my concept of RP is different to what I see here.  I'm used to sending a short paragraph of my own words (perhaps a bit longer than the one above) and waiting five minutes for the other person to write a response.  I find it strange to use pre-written emotes.  In my MUSHing experience, scenes are usually pre-arranged or at least agreed-upon by players in a particular location, so there's no such thing as a surprise attack OOCly: we know we're going to do a scene where such-and-such attacks the other guys or what-have-you.  It's quite different here, where there are people busy doing this or that in-game and not willing or able to RP.  But how to tell, aside from insanely asking?