Server-side Queue

The ability to add tasks to a queue server-side, to get past any latency in doing things due to being on the internet and a whole mess of networks. Sub-second timing means a lot in this game.

Comments

• edited March 2013
    Could you give a bit more details on how exactly you picture that queue? Fires on balance/equilibrium? Other types of balances too? How exactly are several items in a queue being handled? How could you manipulate the queue? Etc.

Just "a server-side queue" is a bit vague.
  • edited March 2013
    Hrm, I'm not an expert in all the balances and stuff of everyone but if I was tasked with coding it I would probably implement hooks into when balances come back and see if there's a specific item in the queue.

Maybe different queue levels for eq, bal, herb, elixir, moss, eq and bal, and limb. Maybe with a command syntax of:
    queue <eq|bal|eqbal|herb|elixir|moss|limb> <command string> 
    queueshow [eq|bal|eqbal|herb|elixir|moss|limb] 
    queueremove <eq|bal|eqbal|herb|elixir|moss|limb> <command string> 
    queueremove <index id>
    queuepause
    queueunpause
    queueclear

queue would add items to the queue.
    queueshow would show what's in the queue, with an optional param to show a specific subset of the queue, showing the index number of the item in queue, the balance, and then the command string.
    queueremove would remove items from the queue, either by two ways: 1) by balance and command string or 2) by index number.
    queuepause would pause the queue processor from processing items from the queue.
    queueunpause would unpause the queue processor if previously paused, otherwise it does nothing.
    queueclear would clear all items in the queue.

The database schema may look something like this:
    create table mortal_queue (
      id serial,
      user_id int referencing user.id, -- assuming all characters are in a user table or something like it