Happy Birthday Achaea!

VayneVayne Rhode Island
edited September 2012 in North of Thera
It amazes me that Achaea is 15 years old. I have been playing this game for a loooong time and I know many of you have been playing even longer. What are your favorite memories looking back? What have you learned? What friends have you made? What do you feel nostalgic about? What do you regret?

I started playing Achaea when I was...16 in 2003 after I clicked a link while reading 8-bit Theatre. I made a Hashani/SL character because they sounded cool but quickly lost interest, came back a year later and made Vayne and have been addicted ever since. I remember how exciting the world seemed as my mentor, whose name I cannot remember, told me about running through the streets during a war with bow in hand slaying his enemies. I think that is what really good me hooked. I didn't do much during my college days except spend money I didn't have on credits, but the best thing that happened to me early on was meeting Harmonia. For those who know don't know her, she is awesome and has been an inspiration to me in an out of the game. Besides her, I have met lots of interesting and unforgettable people.

The depth of Achaea still hasn't lost its charm for me and the more I put into it the more I get out. It was awesome ascending to the leadership positions I have now and I enjoy being able to help facilitate a fun and interesting place to play for others. I have learned a lot about people and politics in general from playing a game which always astounds me. Thank you IRE for all the blood, sweat, in tears you have put into this and your other games and thanks to everyone who makes Achaea a fun game to play.

Comments

• I know nearly exactly when I started playing, I was about 3 weeks to a month before my grandpa passed away and the 6 year mark for his death was earlier this week. So I've been playing for 6 years now. 
    meh