Creating a system to run alongside server side curing HALP!

Hi, I'm Paku! I just started playing about a week ago! I've been spending most of my time hunting and have talked with a few people that mentioned that serverside can be better used with a clientside system supplementing it. For those that have created their own system to work along side serverside, what did you first implement? What should I look into, what should I focus on finishing first within my system?

I've managed to get GMCP aff/defs working but no logic behind them. My first step in creating my own system I want to setup defense handling. Any ideas on how I can get this started?

Answers

• edited February 2021
    You really don't need such a system, until maybe intermediate level of combat.  The in-game curing system along with a good set of aliases is more than enough for pve at any level and pvp up to even high levels (with good manual control).

Instead of sitting down to build a system, maybe just build it one single thing at a time as you learn new things.  E.g. you die to darkshade, add a check to prio darkshade.    Do that enough times and you'll have a great system pretty soon.

Same is true for defence management.  

For both curing and defences, don't forget to set up good tree scenarios or the fact that you can have multiple pages you can swap between on the fly (e.g. a page for vs serpent and another page against priests, etc).

To answer your question though, starting blank page with good server side setup is to set up some automatic prio swaps or prio overrides (PRIOAFF) for special cases where static priorities will get you in trouble, but in order to know when and how to do this, you'd need a great deal of experience.