Crafting and the practical use.

So, I absolutely love Achaea, been playing it nigh on religiously for about 12 years, maybe more, but I find that there are opportunities being missed.  Now, I'm no coder, so I may be absolutely dreaming with some of these, and I will likely be making subsequent posts for other ideas, but this one will be for crafting!!

I find that crafting has gotten to a point where it's entirely cosmetic and rather limited on the benefits crafting can have.  I have always forged, it's been the method that I've played, and perhaps my view is rather limited in that regard due to just knowing blacksmithing.  My understanding though, is that there are few crafting skills that actually help the players.  With forging, I found that continued use of the craft would give better chances for higher stats, which in turn was valued more by the players.  I find that while the continued improvement of ones blacksmithing rank does allow for more interesting descriptors, it's a rather high price to pay for something simply cosmetic.

I understand that it was changed to make the artefact armor and weapons more valuable and increase sales, and I do believe that the cosmetic side is nice, but I wonder if there is a way to improve the practicality of an item, making the skill of the crafter and the focus more useful to the user.  Enchanting is an area that I believe could go well here, mixing enchanting and blacksmithing, or enchanting and jewelry, to increase the practicality of items as well as continuing their cosmetic usefulness.  This would encourage people to work on their crafting skills, perhaps introducing more skill sets for player investment, or even adding new potential for the crafting direction entirely!