The Tea and Fresh Cream Conundrum

Comments

• I am far from a dairy expert, but I think the issue is pasteurization. Today we have no problem putting cream in hot liquids because it's already pasteurized. Dairy products in Achaea would not be pasteurized, since pasteurization didn't really become a thing until the 1800s. Unpasteurized cream would get real funky in ~200F liquid. And sure, theoretically you could pasteurize milk in Achaea, but realistically you wouldn't, unless you want to RP out your character inventing food safety guidelines.
  • - 2019/10/04 04:40:26 - Nicola says, "Coffee doesn't use boiling water, it brews for a
    considerable time and longer than tea, and Achaea doesn't have coffee, we have kawhe. Also 
    creams on the market today are pretty much pasteurised (already exposed to high heat) and 
    very rarely full fat."
  • Fizzy lemonade also wasn't a thing until the 1800s.
  • Lenn said:
    Fizzy lemonade also wasn't a thing until the 1800s.

Sounds like ‘Murican propaganda. Everybody knows the original lemonade was Sierra Mist and it came out of an ancient oasis in the desert long before anybody knew how to make diluted juice from squeezing lemons.

• For your consideration: I have Uzbeikstani friends, and they put butter in tea.

Butter. In tea.

Let that soak in for a moment.

Then think about how the butter also soaks in to the tea (which they drink).

If you can put a slab of butter in your tea, you can certainly put some milk.
  • edited October 2019
    Zackery said: