Rp/MUD Newbie

edited July 2018 in North of Thera
Greetings everyone

As you can tell by the title, I am very new to the role-playing and MUD world. I have the technical aspects down and I understand how to use emotions in the program, however I would greatly appreciate some advice and guidance on the subject of roleplay ( how to do it, who to do it with, plots, etc.) as the concept is a little hard for me to grasp. 

I look forward to hearing from you all and I'm excited for the adventures that are sure to come.

Comments

• Welcome!
  • Welcome to Achaea. For the best experience, it's generally advised to stay away from the forums or to take most things said here with a grain of salt. Stay away from the sewers (forum section) because they are full of salt and the only thing they really provide is a bit of entertainment for those of us who have been here a while.

Stick with the theme of Achaea. It is pre-industrial, magic and fantasy. Not steampunk, but dragons and wizards type. There are quirks that you learn as you play.

Check out the Mythos (I do believe it can be found in every city library and in Thera) which will give a decent foundational knowledge of the type of world Achaea is.

Remember that we are people as well, and while roleplaying how you want to may seem like a fine idea, we don't typically take well to the 'special snowflake' brand of roleplay. You are living everyday life as a character in a fantasy world.

Most of the channels that you can speak on are IC enforced, like House, city, and order channels. The exception being certain clans, which are private and marked as OOC in some way.

To find people to roleplay with, join a city and a House until you get your bearings and are more comfortable with the game. Take examples from people who have been here for a while.