New Player Trying to Get Started

So I just started playing Achaea today and though I'm pretty sure that I'll be able to get the actual gameplay aspects down pat, I'm having some problems with the role-play side. I have in my head the idea of becoming a scholarly Magi, but I don't know how to make my character "live and breathe", which is making me have some trouble interacting with other people? If anyone has some tips they'd be greatly appreciated!

Comments

• Welcome indeed!

Sitting down and taking the time to flesh out your character is very important. No problem with pen and paper if you want to develop him fully. Granted, always leave room for improvement, you'll find many things that happen in game that will change your character's view on life. It's important to keep a decent IC/OC seperation, as I've found in my opinion, my character has gone against what I'd think to do myself.

Quriks and flaws are a fun way to add depth to your char and as mentioned before, emotes! Emotes do a ton and describing your character in a way that just telling someone does not. You can't just tell people you want to be scholarly, you have to act it, show it, speak it, and be it.

Scholars are a bit difficult to play, but there is always the wiki and whatnot to brush up on history, as well as plenty of the older players who all have their own stories to tell. You need a good mix of finding things IC and a lot of study OC to make sure all your stories are correct. (not that I entirely condone using OC means to find all this, there is just so much to learn and find out about).

Mhaldor is tough on newbies, difficult to get interaction and some of the requirements are pretty hard. Be ready to fight, as it's expected of everyone, but seeing as you're a mage you'll be helpful either way.

Just keep at it, you'll find it quite rewarding
    Replies the scorpion: "It's my nature..."