How do you limit your Achaean play-time?

Hello everyone!

I've been playing Achaea for a couple of months extremely intensively during 2013. At some point I only felt alive inside of the game, and eating and sleeping were the only non-achaean activities I was doing each day. (This was during the time I had dropped out of school and was still living with my parents).

At some point, while I loved Achaea very much, I decided that this was really detrimental to my health, so from one day to the next I stopped cold-turkey.

Now, we're five years down the road. A couple of days ago I booted up my old Achaean account again, and it feels like coming home :-).

I really want to continue on playing. However, I do not want to lose myself inside Achaea that much as I did before.
Are there any strategies that you employ to ensure that you do not over-play (and e.g. still catch some sleep every night?)

Thank you!

~Accidaente

Comments

• edited January 2018

Are there any strategies that you employ to ensure that you do not over-play (and e.g. still catch some sleep every night?)

The exact same way I manage any other game. By treating it as a game: if I shouldn't be playing at <x> time, and be doing something else, I do that something else; doesn't matter if I'm doing something "important" in-game. Real life is more important than a game. Self-control is an important trait to learn.
  • Zackery said:
    • BEDTIME! Set a time of night at which you will log off, no matter what.
    This is the big one for me. I’m not as young as I once was, so stay in up until 2-4am before a work day have to be reserved for special occasions. I try to be out of Achaea by 11pm, with emergency cutoff being 12am. Sometimes I fail, but I try to stick to this schedule. It helps that my work/school schedule force me to stay off most of the day, so my play time I’m usually busy be entire time.

Penwize has cowardly forfeited the challenge to mortal combat issued by Atalkez.
  • KyrraKyrra Australia