Lack of roleplay?

I've been playing Achaea for about two years, I think. I majorly came here for roleplay experiences, and I quickly got on board when I saw the extent of imaginative beauty in this game. I was not an avid MUD player because I got a sense of stagnation in them, but it feels far more vibrant here, and I expected similar from the playerbase, but this place seems more distant and confusing to me than what I was expecting.

I'm not complaining about the playerbase or anyone in particular by any measure; on an OOC basis, everyone I've met has been so helpful and kind that I can't really argue about that facet of the game's community. But roleplay-wise, it feels like a lot of interaction between people is just OOC with In-Character flair as per the game's rules. Maybe I'm coming from a different place because I'm more into heavy RP. I like to imagine my character's mindset and personality as something alien and strange (because he's, well, a giant talking insect), and I feel giddy just imagining what opportunities could be open to him in terms of story. But I'm forced to limit myself because I feel like if I'm too In-Character, I'll make them uncomfortable and waste their time or something to that effect. When I happen upon a group of people in my home city, I usually see them idling or talking to each other about things that go completely over my head, and it makes me anxious trying to initiate conversation. It has me feeling somewhat depressed because I feel like I'll never get to experience actual roleplay.

Am I alone feeling this way? Or is there just something about Achaea's atmosphere that I'm just not understanding?

Comments

• Might be Cyrene. But in Targossas I've had a lot of pretty deep RP. I feel like I experience the same thing you are when I go to Cyrene.  
  • Sylphie said:
    Might be Cyrene. But in Targossas I've had a lot of pretty deep RP. I feel like I experience the same thing you are when I go to Cyrene.