Ship Customisation Options

It's no secret that I'm a Seafaring and ships fanboy, and with such interest comes brainstorming ways to make ships even better. Now, I've thought about a lot of different ideas and options for this, but it wasn't until I started playing Black Flag again this week that it all started coming together.

A lot of time is spent on ships and they all pretty much look the same (with the exception of those touched by those artefact theme buckets). I think it would go a long way towards making individual ships stand out if there were certain customisation options available.

Just as you can buy and affix a figurehead of your choosing, what if you could also buy sails of a certain color or even two color pattern, various ship wheel designs, things such as lanterns, hammocks, etc? You want the hull of your ship painted red and black, and to sail crimson coloured sails, with a ship wheel carved of bone? Hell, why not?

The idea is to a) give people something to they'll enjoy looking at while they're stuck on it for hours and b) more uniquely distinguish ships, aside from the ship name and whatever flag might be flown.

Additionally, the ability to purchase or discover things such as sea shanties that you can give to your crew to learn and sing.

Comments

• I love all of this! Especially the sea shanties.. not gonna lie I would make my crew learns and sing them all!!
  • MelodieMelodie Port Saint Lucie, Florida
    I feel like this would segue very neatly into furnishing! Doesn't have to of course, but it just seems to fit the idea of it.

Also sea shanties yessss. I would super dig that. What is a Melodie boat of a previous Nereian without sea shanties?!
    And I love too                                                                          Be still, my indelible friend
    That love soon might end                                                         You are unbreaking