New, seeking general advice.

Hi everyone - so, I'm brand new to Achaea - actually, new to MUDs in general, but my brother-in-law has gotten me started on yet one more outlet for my roleplaying needs, and so far I definitely enjoy it.

Anyway, I have realized that a lot of people(everyone?) use a great deal of scripting for this - and the way combat flows even at low level I can understand why.

I have a light programming background, and with help from my brother-in-law I've set up some really simple keybindings for easy hunting and sipping.

BUT, the reason I am here is I am hoping for assistance in prioritizing the triggers/timer/scripts I'll want to set up. I have some interest in pre-built systems, to the point that I've downloaded Omnipave - however, I want to know how it works, and I find it impossible to let myself just use it. I've spent more time trying to dissect the system since I've gotten it than I have spent in Achaea using it.

So what this boils down to is, I know that I want to work my way from the ground up, organically expanding a working system for myself along with my character. I feel like it could be a great deal of the fun for me - and it would help me not feel like I am somehow cheating by using scripts that I don't even comprehend.

So... any advice on where to start, as just a solid baseline? 

Oh, and I have Mudlet 2.0, and Lua looks like it makes sense so far. Though I'd never heard of it, it reminds me of other languages for what I'm sure are obvious reasons.

Comments

• NizarisNizaris The Holy City of Mhaldor
    Basic curing system works like this:

• Triggers register when you receive an affliction. The triggers add these afflictions to a queue.
    • Another set of triggers registers when you recover balance to cure. (You can only cure afflictions cured by herbs/minerals once every two seconds or so, salves every second, etc.)