Obsidian and Orb of Confinement

Let me begin by saying I'm not that experienced with mining and this is just my potentially very flawed understanding. With that said, I've been looking into the orb of confinement city improvement for Targossas for a long time now, and it seems like the obsidian upkeep requirement is rather high relative to the spawning of obsidian lodes. From what I understand about mining, lodes only spawn when the commodities are used. So if the majority of the obsidian is mostly sitting in people's inventories, lodes will only spawn at the rate that enchantment goes through obsidian. Even if you get a majority of the obsidian lodes, I think the obsidian upkeep is a bit too high. I love the idea of a city being restrained by what commodities they can bring in, but with the numbers I've been given, it's too close to unsustainable. Am I totally wrong about this or can the orb of confinement use some adjustment in terms of upkeep price?

i'm a rebel

Comments

• Lode generation has absolutely nothing to do with when comms are used.
  • Didn't you say before that lode are generated based on the total commodity type available globally?

Penwize has cowardly forfeited the challenge to mortal combat issued by Atalkez.
  • @Sarapis Would you be able to say if the rate of obsidian lode spawning is okay, or if it could use a little nudge? From what I have heard it's too rare to sustain obsidian income vs upkeep cost.

i'm a rebel

• Just start tracking it. It's so predictable that you will eventually just have to fight Grandue/Josoul for rare lodes.
  • edited February 2016
    Tesha said:
    @Sarapis Would you be able to say if the rate of obsidian lode spawning is okay, or if it could use a little nudge? From what I have heard it's too rare to sustain obsidian income vs upkeep cost.