Several questions from a newish player

edited August 2015 in General Questions
Hey. I'm somewhat new to the game (I played it for like month back and forth, back in 2004 and 2006) and I'm having trouble deciding on what to settle on, city/house/class-wise. I don't play a lot of muds, so this is all new and rather overwhelming for me. I was able to google some info, but it is mostly very outdated. My questions:

1. I have a very hard time on deciding on what city to choose. I've tried half of them. Haven't tried Mhaldor, Eleusis or Targossas. Mhaldor is most likely out of question because I don't really like playing completely evil characters - I prefer to be more grey. Though I am aware that Mhaldor is more machiavellian evil than "chaotic dumb". I kind of liked Ashtan, though the whole chaos and chaos lord stuff seems a bit too esoteric for me - are you forced to worship or respect chaos? Is it hard to learn and understand the chaos stuff? Cyrene seems a bit too "clean" and while it's nice having a LOT of friendly people around you, it's a bit too...posh? For me. Hashan seems interesting, but it seemed a tad underpopulated. Plus the whole research and science angle doesn't completely fit the characters I mostly play. Eleusis seems interesting, but how much freedom is there to it? Can I play as a more brutal protector of nature, or as an explorer? What city should I choose if I want to have quite a bit of freedom and a good place to learn the game?

2. On houses, I'm a bit overwhelmed by the necessity to write essays for some of them. I'm fine with doing long roleplay, I'm fine with studying the game's lore, I'm fine with doing various tasks - but writing essays to rise up in ranks isn't really my thing. Are there houses that don't have this requirement to rise in ranks, and what are they?