Learning Mudlet?

edited June 2015 in Tech Support
Hello everyone, I am new to Achaea and am a Serpent. I want to code my own scripts so that I can begin to learn Mudlet. I literally have very minimal knowledge of it already except for making basic triggers, and aliases. My first goals are to:

1.) Code my own bashing script to utilize my rage abilities on top of my garroting. 
2.) Code my own PvP combat 
3.) Code my own curing system based off the use of server-side

I'm not a computer science major or anything, but am decent at math and thinking.. But I just don't know where to begin in learning Mudlet/Lua. Everyone just says they taught themselves. Is it really possible to teach myself? Where do I even begin? Sure I could learn how to code a "table" but I wouldn't know how to even utilize it. 

Is there anybody that would be willing to help teach me as well? Thank you, it would be much appreciated.

- Aeacus

@Cesarina: I took your advice and began to look at some of the scripts I have downloaded but.. they made no sense. Do you mean look at the XML or what it puts in my Mudlet?

Comments

• JonathinJonathin Retired in a hole.
    edited June 2015
    I taught myself. It's not really that difficult once you finally manage to climb your way over the initial hurdle.

The mudlet manual is a good place to start.
    The Mudlet Lua wiki is another good reference.

The Lua Wiki is another good resource.
    and this also helped me quite a bit.

There are several youtube videos out there as well. 
    My videos are the only ones I happen to have the links readily available for.
    Also, my website has a couple tutorials that might help.

edit: muldet ~= mudlet
    I am retired and log into the forums maybe once every 2 months. It was a good 20 years, live your best lives, friends.
  • Jonathin said:
    I taught myself. It's not really that difficult once you finally manage to climb your way over the initial hurdle.

The mudlet manual is a good place to start.