Tips for a first-time PC build?

Yo yo.  My computer is pretty much seeing its end days lately, and I'd like to replace it before it kicks the bucket.  I've always heard it's a better option to piece your PC together than to go through a company, but... I have absolutely no clue where to start.  I know a couple people who can help me build it physically for a few bucks, but I have no idea what things I need to buy.  I've read guide after faq after youtube video and everything just completely goes over my head.

So, how about you lot of tech-savvy folks?  I'm looking to run a few particular titles on upper-end settings with more than decent FPS (WoW, Warframe, and Guild Wars 2).  I'm really tired of having 40 fps in a dead area and 16 fps when people start doing things :(  What would you suggest to do, and do you know where a total newbie may find some solid advice?
[2:41:24 AM] Kenway: I bet you smell like evergreen trees and you could wrestle boreal mammals but they'd rather just cuddle you

Comments

• PC Part Picker is an excellent resource. It will bring any compatibility problems to you attention as well as mine the net for the lowest prices available.

I've got a thread for my build floating around on the forums somewhere. Basically what I did was choose a CPU and base my build off of that.

My biggest piece of advice is to not short yourself. I had many many people tell me 8Gb was more than enough memory, but I ended up going with 16Gb. Absolutely needed it to run modded Minecraft on great settings.
  • Oh hey.  One last ditch effort before bed turned up this: http://pcpartpicker.com/guide/Mh32FT/core-i5-4460-geforce-gtx-960-gaming-pc

leading into this how-to video on the build itself: 

And this combo deal thingy to score all the parts: http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboBundleDetails.aspx?ItemList=Combo.2351670&nm_mc=AFC-C8Junction&cm_mmc=AFC-C8Junction-_-na-_-na-_-na&cm_sp=&AID=10446076&PID=3938566&SID=buildguideMh32FT