S&B Combat Theory (take 2)

Hey guys, now that I've had a bit of time to get familiar with the class (though, still learning more every day!) I thought I'd start some more conversation about S&B combat (new thread since other one went .. sour).  This isn't necessarily for advanced people only (particularly since I'm still new to it myself), so please don't feel free to jump in with thoughts or questions, and please don't be offended if I'm saying things that are obvious to higher skill people.

Few things I've noticed: (note: I'm at peak speed with L3 longsword (runed), nimble, buckler)

First of all, smash high is really, really hard to use well.  It was immediately apparent that just using it back to back really doesn't work as well as I initially expected.  It is still a pretty awesome move, which I'll come back to when I talk about lock ideas in a second.

Second of all, I'm finding that choosing when to use shieldstrike is really challenging.  So far I'm using sensi to stack herbs/kelp early on, and occassionally stun to help build mental stacks.  Shieldsmash high combo, then a stun/para/metal combo x2, then another shieldsmash high combo is a really good 4-hit combo that helps stack up fast (the first delays focus, and if the second combo lands before they focus (works only with L3 longsword) you can delay the focus for another chunk of time with the stun.  They focus (3 second balance) which regains them focus balance just in time for your fourth hit (which kills focus balance again).  This buys you 8 seconds of metal stacking with only one focus, and can be repeated easily enough (although tree+passive still makes it a bitch).