What's cooking?

Comments

• Kresslack said:

How much whiskey goes into cookies? I'm new to this whole baking thing.
    What cookies are you baking that have any amount of whiskey in them? Probably not much, because they will interfere with the myriad chemical processes that go on during baking - see this writeup - while not contributing a great deal of flavour.
  • edited December 2014
    I've found a lot of cookie recipes that use whiskey or other alcohol (if you want to find some, you can just google 'whiskey cookies recipe'). I'm planning on making some with Fireball soon.

You can make cookies out of just about anything.
  • KresslackKresslack Florida, United States
    My experience is that you can cook with alcohol and just about anything, just that it cooks the alcohol out and leaves a nice infused flavour. Never tried baking with it before though (unless you count drinking while operating an oven).

• Kresslack said:
    My experience is that you can cook with alcohol and just about anything, just that it cooks the alcohol out and leaves a nice infused flavour. Never tried baking with it before though (unless you count drinking while operating an oven).
    Make a rum cake with Bacardi Torched Cherry rum.. Was amazing, but something I definitely couldn't share at work. :wink: 
  • Kresslack said:
    http://www.todayifoundout.com/index.php/2011/11/alcohol-doesnt-really-cook-out-of-food-in-most-cases/

• Last year at Christmas, my friend wanted to get all fancy and serve a Christmas pudding that was on fire...well, it turned out to be harder than she thought to get it alight. Cut to 15 minutes later with half a dozen empty bottles of different alcohol with the pudding finally burning. Needless to say, it didn't taste great after that. 
    Janeway: Tuvok! *clapclap* Release my hounds!
    Krenim: Hounds? How cliche.
    Janeway: Tuvok! *clapclap* Release my rape gorilla!
    Krenim: ...We'll show ourselves out.
    Trey said:
    Kresslack said: