Current State of Theft

Ok, before I begin I'd like to go ahead and admit that I am still relatively new to the Serpent class. I have however been experimenting with Pickpocketing quite a bit lately. To be frank, I find the theft ability as is quite disappointing. I've heard all the old stories about how theft used to be, and how griefy it could be. But I think the current system is too far to the opposite side. I want to make it clear that I am not calling for an all out change to old ways. But I'd like to see an open discussion about how things could possibly be changed to achieve a balance. I realize that people don't like losing possessions or earned coin, but in a living breathing fantasy world, that's part of the risk you take. As it stands right now, the only things it's really possible to get are amounts of gold 5k or lower, sigils, and letters.

With how things are now, theft is not only easily avoidable, but almost impossible to pull off a good, significant theft. You've got bell tattoo that warns you as soon as someone looks at your possessions (Countered by Mesmerise, a skill you don't get until you are completely transed in hypnosis vs Bell a skill about 182 or 183 lessons into tattoos) and Selfishness (Can be stripped, if you know the pickpocket timing). Two perfectly good skills to help prevent theft.