What is the deal with Shrines?

edited July 2014 in North of Thera

I know this is a contentions subject, but I'm fairly new to the game and I am very confused. I've read through the wiki and as many help files as I can find. I apologize if I have missed something obvious. I am in Targossas, so I recognize my information may be biased, but I am hoping this discussion will clarify matters for myself and others.

This is my understanding of how the shrine system works.

1. Shrines are set up by worshipers of each deity and represent a significant portion of a deities  power.
  2. Erecting a shrine takes essence which comes from the killing of non-aligned, enemy denizens. A newly raised shrine must also be sanctified further after it is erected.
  3. Each shrine exert some type control over a limited area of Sapience (4 rooms?).
  4. Each shrine offers some worshipers  access to limited abilities, but only in the proximity of the shrine.
  5. Each shrine allows worshipers the ability to increase the power of their deity via offerings.
  6. *Shrines are also use to proclaim territory or as advertisement of religious influence.

A shrine can be defiled by anyone:

1. Defiling a shrine is an attack on the deity and by extension an attack on the  worshipers.  
  2. Defiling requires corpse from denizens or gold.
  3. Worshipers are allowed to defend a shrine during or after defilement. Since there may be resistance, the defiler(s) run the risk of being attacked and killed, enemied by a city, or made infamous.
  4. Anyone can "witness" the defilement just by being present when a corpse is offered, resulting in a writ being created which can make the defiler infamous(?) and authorizes assassinations.
  5. A witness cannot be attacked, unless they attack first.
  6. *A shrine must be totally taken down, if possible. If a shrine is defended, it must be fully raised as soon as possible.

A shrine can be sanctified by anyone: