HTML vs. Mudlet et al?

Hello there everyone.  Long time player, first time poster.  :)

Actually, that's not true.  I just recently returned from about a 9 year hiatus from the game - saw a link to Achaea on one of my other game forums, and was hit with a wave of nostalgia.  Dove right back in, and actually remembered one of my old character's login information, so I am trying to pick up where I left off there - 300 years of slumber was long enough!

Back in the day, I was a user of Zmud, mostly for triggers and the like, because the HTML (or whatever the Achaea website was at the time, I am no coder) was barely customizable.  These days though, that seems to not be the case.  Yet I have seen a lot of discussions about Mudlet and other MUD clients.

So my question is:  do the clients like that really add a lot of customization that I can't get just via the HTML features offered?  Do you use a client, and if so, why?

Thanks for any input you can share!  See you in the realms.

Comments

• edited June 2014

Mudlet is still the most capable client out there particularly when combined with the SVO system that @Vadimuses sells, but I see more and more people using the HTML5 client (which we really should give a proper name to) these days, and we're always working on it in the background. I'd suggest starting with HTML5 and going to Mudlet if you find you need more customization.

• Sarapis said:

Mudlet is still the most capable client out there particularly when combined with the SVO system that @Vadimuses sells, but I see more and more people using the HTML5 client (which we really should give a proper name to) these days, and we're always working on it in the background. I'd suggest starting with HTML5 and going to Mudlet if you find you need more customization.

@Sarapis‌

The Brochaea Client

(╯° _°)╯︵ ┻━┻ THAT IS ALL!