Comments

• JamethielJamethiel Adelaide

So, I commonly do something like this:

tell liliana Hello thre!

Then I'll realise I've got my spelling wrong and do:

tell liliana *there even

Now it does:

You there tell Snow Flower Liliana Dawyn-Lucoster, "even."

But I don't want it to do that. Make it stop!

• Just ask Lilian... and you'll know the answer.

@Antonius I've been using such expressions, let's see, for about 25 years in various text based mediums including this text based game...

• edited May 2014
    Antonius said:

@Jamethiel‌ Is it really that hard to use "Sorry, I meant there." or "There, even." or any other combination of actual words rather than an asterisk? I know it would require a tiny bit more typing but Achaea is a text-based game.

I do personally like the use of asterisks for this, because it's not supposed to be another IC tell, but more like an OOC way to correct a prior misspelling, and the asterisks serves well to make it appear as such. After all, it's unlikely that Jamethiel's character actually used a weird word like "thre" in a telepathic or auditive channel.

I feel that using full sentences for small corrections like these can sometimes actually create an unwanted emphasis on something that you wish to be glossed over.

• @Iocun: I've always treated those tells as IC, just presented in a borderline OOC fashion. Personally, I missay words all the time for a whole host of different reasons. Why would my character not be the same?

If you really want something to be glossed over I generally find it's best not to mention it at all.

• One does tend to misspeak, but usually in quite a different fashion than one misspells things.

But yeah, I guess simply not mentioning it is the best bet in most cases. I usually try to avoid correcting myself too much, unless the misspelling is either actually confusing, or so embarrassing that I can't bear not to correct it.

• People who correct their grammar or slight misspellings should just stop.