How dumb

Thinking about a second character, haven't played one in literally years. Just something to change things up once in awhile when Talon isn't busy. My main question is - how dumb are we supposed to play a second? I have been around the game for a little while, so having someone sit there and explain every step seems silly. I don't want to just pop in and proclaim I know everything even though I am 18. So just curious what the standard is roughly.

Comments

• Play dumb to the point where you seem young. Doesn't mean you have to act like a total newbie. Also, as @naah says, don't act like a know it all newbie. That annoys the crap out of me and others.

Ask questions about cities and such. Why people believe the way they do. You know. Common questions a young person might ask. But again, the point is to have fun.:) So it is truly up to you. Your character could have a past that makes him knowledgable. But keep in mind, it annoys people at times. Just make it make sense ICly and it will be all good.

• ShirszaeShirszae Santo Domingo
    I'll go ahead and say you don't have to act totally ignorant of everything. You are 18, not 1. So long as you don't act as if you have inside information of important events and such, you should be fine.

And you won't understand the cause of your grief...

...But you'll always follow the voices beneath.

• edited February 2014
    I find it helps to play your new character in an environment where you really are new and inexperienced in some ways. A class, city, house, goals, etc. that you don't have much first-hand experience with. Then you really do have a lot to learn, and things to ask questions about, and it's easier to avoid being a know-it-all because you really don't know it all.

As for basic mechanical things, like how to cure and how to find your way around, I haven't seen anyone actually have a problem with a new character already knowing those things, even back when the newbie:alt ratio was higher.