Welcome to the Achaea Forums! Please be sure to read the Forum Rules.

Let's see your GUI!

124678

Comments

  • TessaTessa Member Posts: 66 ✭✭✭ - Distinguished
    Daeir said:
    @Tessa: That UI is gorgeous and just about everything I am looking for in an interface. Are you considering releasing the template at all?
    I haven't considered it yet, no. I've been too focused on all the aspects of the functionality, such as potion and mob trackers, more accurate wilderness/ship maps, a menu-style configuration system, etc. It's unlikely that (anytime soon at least) I'll pack up a stripped-down template to post up publicly. A lot of it is tied together so it'd take a good bit of time to pick it all apart. If you're intent on getting it though, feel free to contact me privately.

    Trevize said:
    @Tessa - I copied some elements and concepts from your UI, that one is -great-. Here's what I have so far, now:


    I'm planning to find a better background image, and add some borders similar to what's in Zulah's UIs, so it blends in better.
    Looks nice! I like the gague style in particular. Interested in seeing how it turns out with your planned changes.
    TrevizeExelethril
  • TrevizeTrevize Member Posts: 1,517 @ - Epic Achaean
    Not nearly as pretty as Zulah's but it's done for now. More info boxes will be added, I'm sure, but the rest is pretty much set. Decided against a background image for now - I like the usable space and the crisp look.

    image
    Current scripts: GoldTracker 1.2, mData 1.1
    Site: https://github.com/trevize-achaea/scripts/releases
    Thread: http://forums.achaea.com/discussion/4064/trevizes-scripts
    Latest update: 9/26/2015 better character name handling in GoldTracker, separation of script and settings, addition of gold report and gold distribute aliases.
    TrillianaStrataVerily
  • StrataStrata United States of DerpMember Posts: 1,753 @ - Epic Achaean
    That layout is the best I have seen thus far. And you have left room for all sorts of possibilities. I like!
    image
  • TrevizeTrevize Member Posts: 1,517 @ - Epic Achaean
    It's currently set for 1600x900, the desktop I'm on now, but can be adjusted. Here's the script!


    First things first - that is the raw GUI, the data you have to send yourself.

    Second, Info boxes are NOT modularized like chat, because I want to do different things with them. As a result, it takes a little more to make/adjust them. Not much if you just want a carbon copy of what's there, just copy/paste the info box and replace the name with the new box.
    Current scripts: GoldTracker 1.2, mData 1.1
    Site: https://github.com/trevize-achaea/scripts/releases
    Thread: http://forums.achaea.com/discussion/4064/trevizes-scripts
    Latest update: 9/26/2015 better character name handling in GoldTracker, separation of script and settings, addition of gold report and gold distribute aliases.
    VerilyDaeirShadrac
  • DalranDalran Member Posts: 227 ✭✭✭ - Distinguished
    Trevize said:
    It's currently set for 1600x900, the desktop I'm on now, but can be adjusted. Here's the script!


    First things first - that is the raw GUI, the data you have to send yourself.

    Second, Info boxes are NOT modularized like chat, because I want to do different things with them. As a result, it takes a little more to make/adjust them. Not much if you just want a carbon copy of what's there, just copy/paste the info box and replace the name with the new box.
    I'm still learning, how would I go about changing the resolution? I'm on a laptop, and your 1600x900 doesn't seem to work right!
  • TrevizeTrevize Member Posts: 1,517 @ - Epic Achaean
    Dalran said:
    Trevize said:
    It's currently set for 1600x900, the desktop I'm on now, but can be adjusted. Here's the script!


    First things first - that is the raw GUI, the data you have to send yourself.

    Second, Info boxes are NOT modularized like chat, because I want to do different things with them. As a result, it takes a little more to make/adjust them. Not much if you just want a carbon copy of what's there, just copy/paste the info box and replace the name with the new box.
    I'm still learning, how would I go about changing the resolution? I'm on a laptop, and your 1600x900 doesn't seem to work right!

    moonlightUI.lefttext = 400
    moonlightUI.righttext = 460
    

    Set that to whatever you want the 'sidebars' to be.
    Current scripts: GoldTracker 1.2, mData 1.1
    Site: https://github.com/trevize-achaea/scripts/releases
    Thread: http://forums.achaea.com/discussion/4064/trevizes-scripts
    Latest update: 9/26/2015 better character name handling in GoldTracker, separation of script and settings, addition of gold report and gold distribute aliases.
    Dalran
  • JacenJacen Member Posts: 2,305 @@ - Legendary Achaean
    image

    Chatbox remodel is done! No longer using YATCO, wrote my own. Pretty happy with how it turned out. Now to figure out what I'm going to use the lower left corner for, and add my system status labels.
    image
    EldShirszaeTrillianaTuroi
  • TharvisTharvis The Land of Beer and Chocolate!Member Posts: 3,107 @@ - Legendary Achaean
    your chat lines seem to be getting cut off though?
    Aurora says, "Tharvis, why are you always breaking things?!"
    Artemis says, "You are so high maintenance, Tharvis, gosh."
    Tecton says, "It's still your fault, Tharvis."

  • JacenJacen Member Posts: 2,305 @@ - Legendary Achaean
    Yeah gotta fix that. Won't be hard though.
    image
  • IocunIocun Member Posts: 3,506 @@ - Legendary Achaean

    setWindowWrap(windowname, number_of_characters)

    Jacen
  • JonathinJonathin Grand Rapids, MIMember Posts: 3,323 @@ - Legendary Achaean
    edited January 2014
    Since I acquired a laptop with a touch screen, I felt the need to make a gui that I can poke and prod to do things along with a mountain of aliases/macros. It's not completely finished yet, but it's about 90%. Have to add a few more buttons (I was testing them for proof-of-concept) to each tab and program in my miscellaneous exit buttons.

    image

    My site will remain up, but will not be maintained. The repository will continue to have scripts added to it if I decide to play another game. Maybe I'll see you around in Starmourn!
    Tutorials and scripts  The Repository

    TrevizeAveriTrilliana
  • TrevizeTrevize Member Posts: 1,517 @ - Epic Achaean
    Very nice use of screen space.
    Current scripts: GoldTracker 1.2, mData 1.1
    Site: https://github.com/trevize-achaea/scripts/releases
    Thread: http://forums.achaea.com/discussion/4064/trevizes-scripts
    Latest update: 9/26/2015 better character name handling in GoldTracker, separation of script and settings, addition of gold report and gold distribute aliases.
    Trilliana
  • TharvisTharvis The Land of Beer and Chocolate!Member Posts: 3,107 @@ - Legendary Achaean
    image

    anybody know what I should replace that skull with? I ran out of ideas :(
    Aurora says, "Tharvis, why are you always breaking things?!"
    Artemis says, "You are so high maintenance, Tharvis, gosh."
    Tecton says, "It's still your fault, Tharvis."

  • SenaSena Member Posts: 3,957 @@ - Legendary Achaean
    Animated clock showing Achaean time.
    MannimarKyttin
  • AnaidianaAnaidiana Member Posts: 833 @ - Epic Achaean
    echoing @sena, the clock complete with moon phases. or, get someone to do art of your char and put it there, have it change if you are/get dragon to show which form you're in. 



    image
  • AkayaAkaya Member Posts: 32 ✭✭ - Stalwart
    Haven't made an Achaean GUI in awhile but here's one I'm working on atm...
    image
    TrillianaVadimusesAveriNovak
  • TharvisTharvis The Land of Beer and Chocolate!Member Posts: 3,107 @@ - Legendary Achaean
    Sena said:
    Animated clock showing Achaean time.
    this might sound newby-ish, but how do I even begin to do that
    Aurora says, "Tharvis, why are you always breaking things?!"
    Artemis says, "You are so high maintenance, Tharvis, gosh."
    Tecton says, "It's still your fault, Tharvis."

  • SenaSena Member Posts: 3,957 @@ - Legendary Achaean
    I can't help at all with the GUI portion of it, or anything Mudlet-specific, but I can explain (the basic logic of) how you'd make a script to track the time.

    First, 1 Achaean minute = 2.5 RL seconds. What I do is store the IC time as the number of Achaean minutes since midnight, and increment that variable by 1 every 2.5 seconds.

    But that won't tell you what time it is when you log in, and there are variations in IC time (from server-side lag and such) that will make it wrong, so next, you'll need to know what Achaean time the various day/night messages appear at, so you can sync to an exact time whenever you see them.
    http://pastebin.com/LPJJUkXC
    When you see one of those lines (not all of them will appear every day, and none are visible indoors, except for the date change at midnight), set the time to the appropriate number of minutes, and reset the 2.5 second timer to the full 2.5 seconds (or just don't bother and let it be up to a minute off).

    Now, you still don't know what time it is between logging in and seeing one of those messages, so you'll need to estimate. What I do is record the RL time (as seconds since the beginning of the hour, so 2:58:30 is 3510 seconds) of the last IC date change, then the estimated IC time (in minutes since midnight) is (CurrentTime-TimeOfLastDateChange)*2/5, adding 1440 if that gives a result less than 0.

    That will give you the IC time, someone else will have to help with making a clock that actually displays that time.

    Also, my clock script keeps track of the text description of the time as well (things like dawn, after midnight, dusk, etc.), since there aren't messages for most of those changes. I can explain how to do that as well, but it would make this post a lot longer and it's not necessary for just a clock.
    Jonathin
  • TrevizeTrevize Member Posts: 1,517 @ - Epic Achaean
    GMCP has a day/night variable, and it is apparently used by the HTML5 client to move the sun/moon across a bar at the bottom. I imagine much could be done with this.
    Current scripts: GoldTracker 1.2, mData 1.1
    Site: https://github.com/trevize-achaea/scripts/releases
    Thread: http://forums.achaea.com/discussion/4064/trevizes-scripts
    Latest update: 9/26/2015 better character name handling in GoldTracker, separation of script and settings, addition of gold report and gold distribute aliases.
  • ShadracShadrac Denton, TXMember Posts: 141 ✭✭✭ - Distinguished
    Trevize said:
    It's currently set for 1600x900, the desktop I'm on now, but can be adjusted. Here's the script!


    First things first - that is the raw GUI, the data you have to send yourself.

    Second, Info boxes are NOT modularized like chat, because I want to do different things with them. As a result, it takes a little more to make/adjust them. Not much if you just want a carbon copy of what's there, just copy/paste the info box and replace the name with the new box.

    @Trevize - love your layout and want to give it a shot as using it as my first attempt at a UI.

    Questions - when you say send the data yourself - is that as simple as going into your script and changing some values or does it entail creating new scripts?  If it's creating new ones, do you have any examples you can PM or post?

    Also what do you mean by the Info Boxes are not "modularized" like the chat?  As in they are not dynamic or something else?

    Either way - going to try and create a new profile so I can test this out.  Looks great.

    Brandon
  • ShecksShecks Member Posts: 626 ✭✭✭ - Distinguished

    I always thought GUIs were a waste of time, and were just fluff, but some of these look really awesome.  The inventory/who/etc. window is a particularly awesome idea, as is keeping an entire window for affliction list.  Personally I hate having to look away from the bottom of the text window, and I like having it all reviewable in logs, but I think I might have to build it and see if I can get used to it.
    "Ignore the boos.  They usually come from the cheap seats."
  • NaisarNaisar Member Posts: 255 ✭✭✭✭ - Eminent
    I spent awhile on GUIs back when I was in hardcore scripting mode.  I messed with a whole lot of fancy stuff, but the most effective were an animated seafaring interface so I could gag the extra prompt, a simple colored echo after the prompt to show the status of my own limbs, and timing bars.  Timing bars simply shrank slowly according to their duration before vanishing.  I had them for things like piercing the veil, aeon actions, heartseed, salve balance, etc.  They were very useful for getting timing information at a glance, no need to mess with echoes.
    Jhui
  • EldEld Member Posts: 3,946 @@ - Legendary Achaean
    Naisar said:
    I spent awhile on GUIs back when I was in hardcore scripting mode.  I messed with a whole lot of fancy stuff, but the most effective were an animated seafaring interface so I could gag the extra prompt, a simple colored echo after the prompt to show the status of my own limbs, and timing bars.  Timing bars simply shrank slowly according to their duration before vanishing.  I had them for things like piercing the veil, aeon actions, heartseed, salve balance, etc.  They were very useful for getting timing information at a glance, no need to mess with echoes.
    Timing bars are a nice idea. How did you handle the animation, have a permanent timer ticking at a set rate and refresh off that, just refresh on each line from the game, something else?
  • NaisarNaisar Member Posts: 255 ✭✭✭✭ - Eminent
    Yeah I maintained a table of active bars with start & stop times.  I used a permanent timer (disabled when none were active) that ran every ... I think it was 30 milliseconds or so, but I'll have to check when I dig it up, that iterated through the table and updated the size of the gauges.  You have to calculate the size of each gauge every time the timer runs to ensure that it stays correct because the timer won't be exact.
    Jhui
  • TrevizeTrevize Member Posts: 1,517 @ - Epic Achaean
    Shadrac said:
    Trevize said:
    It's currently set for 1600x900, the desktop I'm on now, but can be adjusted. Here's the script!


    First things first - that is the raw GUI, the data you have to send yourself.

    Second, Info boxes are NOT modularized like chat, because I want to do different things with them. As a result, it takes a little more to make/adjust them. Not much if you just want a carbon copy of what's there, just copy/paste the info box and replace the name with the new box.

    @Trevize - love your layout and want to give it a shot as using it as my first attempt at a UI.

    Questions - when you say send the data yourself - is that as simple as going into your script and changing some values or does it entail creating new scripts?  If it's creating new ones, do you have any examples you can PM or post?

    Also what do you mean by the Info Boxes are not "modularized" like the chat?  As in they are not dynamic or something else?

    Either way - going to try and create a new profile so I can test this out.  Looks great.

    Brandon
    Chat boxes, you literally just call a function to create a new one, and a function to send info. It does -all- the rest of the work.

    Info boxes, you need to send information and create them manually - there are a few examples, but really, they're meant to do different things where every chat window behaves the same as the rest.

    With info boxes, what you do with them is up to you, really. Most of mine I create a script that erases the box and re-writes the contents, like so:

    moonlightUI.UpdateTitleBar = function (x)

    clearWindow ("titlebar")

    moonlightUI.titlebar:cecho (x)

    end -- function


    And you just call it like:


    local x = "the " .. char.data.class .. " " .. char.data.name ..

    ", a " .. char.data.race .. " " .. char.data.specialisation


    moonlightUI.UpdateTitleBar(x)


    Which results in the title bar showing:


    the Alchemist Trevize, a Xoran Ward

    Current scripts: GoldTracker 1.2, mData 1.1
    Site: https://github.com/trevize-achaea/scripts/releases
    Thread: http://forums.achaea.com/discussion/4064/trevizes-scripts
    Latest update: 9/26/2015 better character name handling in GoldTracker, separation of script and settings, addition of gold report and gold distribute aliases.
    Shadrac
  • AkayaAkaya Member Posts: 32 ✭✭ - Stalwart
    'timing bars' a.k.a. cooldown timer: http://forums.mudlet.org/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=3257&p=15746&hilit=animated+timers#p15746

    Here they are at work with Achaean balances:
    JhuiEldJosoulTrevize
  • ShadracShadrac Denton, TXMember Posts: 141 ✭✭✭ - Distinguished
    Tessa said:
    Loving some of the work here. Lot of creativity. I've been holding mine back for a few weeks now due to how raw it's been, but I think I'm comfortable with posting it now.

    image

    It's still missing the 'modes' tabs on the top bar that'll switch it between a number of reporting schemes; like ship mode will swap the map for a ship version, and the top left window will shift to sailing related information. Also missing a few trackers, like hunger, sobriety, inventory and mobs. Most of the rest fully works though, and actively. Also note the screenshot's color is off for some reason....happened no matter what method of saving and uploading I tried.
    @Tessa - are you using Geyser?  I've never been able to get the borders to work since my map and chat captuerer are using MiniConsoles.

    Would you post the code snippet for it or tell how you did it?
  • KenwayKenway San FranciscoMember Posts: 1,130 @@ - Legendary Achaean
    Well, I've only been at this since last night but here's what I've got so far! I got a small screen so I can't really swing a double border but I think the tabs will help with that a lot. I plan on adding some limb stuff and once I figure out GMCP I'm gonna throw in a room inventory and a whohere thing. Also gonna throw in date/time/etc at the bottom. And the gauge in the top right is xp% and xp rank. Uhh.. yeah that's all I guess! I'm pretty happy with how it's coming along but I have -no- idea what I'm doing. Love the class buttons though!
    image

    - Limb Counter - Fracture Relapsing -
    "Honestly, I just love that it counts limbs." - Mizik Corten
    VadimusesZincorHanleyAlcinae
Sign In to Comment.