Class for this Archetype

Hey folks,

Before I start - I am VERY new to the game.  I've rolled a couple of characters that I've gotten out of the tutorial, but I'm looking to get into a single role and live there for a while.  Over the coming weeks my teenage kids and I will be joining in and playing.

The concept that I have is the big, dumb brute.   The race I think will either be human or troll and I'm leaning towards troll.    I especially like their racial ability related to blunt weapons as that matches my concept of a smashing brute.

My problem is this.... I can't find a class that would match that somewhat common archetype.    I thought blade-master, but I don't want to use bladed weapons only "smashers".  Most of the melee classes I see are what I would categorize as "finesse" fighters.   Swashbuckler, blademaster, Paladin, Infernal, and runewarden all seem to specialize in specific bladed weapons, a specific graceful style of combat,  or dual-wielding.    I looked at Monk and their abilities to use staffs seemed like it *might* work.  However, I don't see my archetype fitting in well as a monk with the focus on mind and body.  

Magic would not be out of the picture.  I am even looking into priest with their specialization in their holy mace.   I've played this archetype as a priest before on another game and it worked out alright, but I'm not sure about how priests in this game are built.   I am also looking into shaman as that fits well with the more primal concept, but I don't see them as melee heavy which I'd want to be.

So my question to you fine folks is this.   Am I missing something in one of these classes that would allow me to roleplay the dumb brute effectively?   Can blademasters focus on maces?   Are monks required by class to be pictures of finesse and mind/body perfection?    Can shamans focus on melee combat?    

I appreciate the help tremendously!

Comments