Comments

• Soulcage the starburst that doesn't cause XP and Blackwind the oh shit GTFO button
  • I enjoy necromancy thematically a bit more due to its nature of consuming and manipulating mortal essence directly. Devotion has more of the traditional 'beseech your God for powers' feel to it which is nice on its own merits, but a bit overplayed in general in fantasy literature and gaming. Necromancy seems a better fit for Achaea's overarching theme of player-driven conflict where the power, or bleeding heart of your victim, is literally in your hands.
  • @Hegua Great point! I hadn't considered that, although I have been thinking necromancy -thematically at least- feels more powerful.

• Randomly curious to check poll, even though I've seen this question before, but that would require voting, which would be wrong...
  • ValdusValdus Australia
    I chose Devotion.

I've a lot of experience with Necromancy in other IRE games. Since Achaea was the original, most of the skills are still a direct cut and paste. So it's fun and I have enjoyed it.

Devotion hower? I've never played a Paladin/Priest class before. I know what the skills are and how they work, mostly. But never having had them before, I get that "Oh look at these cool skills!" feeling when thinking about them. Y'know, that feeling you get when you look at something new that you haven't played with before.

Viva la Bluef.
  • If you want to go on offense, take Blackwind.

Defense take rites.

1v1 Infernal is much easier.
  • From the themes and concepts rather than any actual gameplay (I don't know enough for gameplay observations!), I prefer Runelore!

I don't necessarily dislike Necromancy or Devotion, but they're just too good vs evil for my tastes. I prefer fantasy tools that have no inherent moral implications (or at least not so obvious ones), and can be used for any moral alignment, including good, evil, orange, blue, and even various shades of gray!