Standards and Accessability

So I just watched a pair of people rip into someone over an IG essay, which i decided to read. It was awful to see, and then watch them display a distinct lack of empathy in trying to tell him to not be offended.

The essay was awful. Like it was written by a 13 year old in fact. I was an awful writer when I was 13. I played Achaea back then too. If I had to do this requirement back then I would have failed it, and probably quit Achaea if someone told me it wasn't good enough.

Now I have no idea how old the person who wrote it is, nor should I have to care, but what constitutes as acceptable standards? This guy was really upset because he thought he did a really good job, and after reading it, I would probably give him 10/10 for effort. This is a game after all.

What kind of standard should we hold people accountable to though? Considering this is a game that someone who may not be proficient in english in might enjoy playing, at what point are we telling them they aren't good enough to take part and have fun? 

Conversely, to what standard should literature be held to in these circumstances?

-

One of the symptoms of an approaching nervous breakdown is the belief that one's work is terribly important

As drawn by Shayde
hic locus est ubi mors gaudet succurrere vitae

Comments

• TarausTaraus The Gypsy Wind
    I don't think there's a base-line standard you can apply across the board that someone ought to be held up to, mostly because people, and their writing ability, and their enjoyment OF writing, differs so radically.

I've never been overly fond of certain requirements anywhere that call for long pieces of written work, for the simple reason that this IS a game, and a lot of people find that so tedious - especially when you consider the amount of people that play who're in college - yea, I just spent two weeks writing this 50 page thesis, now lemme spend my 10 minutes of free time writing more!