Magic: The Gathering

So, after watching a couple episodes in a new Youtube series (Will include link to first ep below) I have started to take an interest in this TCG (Trading Card Game). I've never really been into these types of things, but the enthusiasm the players have for it along with the depth and scope of the system has made me very intrigued. As such, I've just ordered my first Fat Pack, a Theros one, and while I wait for it to arrive in the mail I was curious to see if there are any other MTG players in our community!

If so, I'd love to hear what you guys have to say about it, along with what advice you would give to complete newbies on where to start and so forth. I don't think I'm going to just start buying tons of Booster Boxes, but the thought of opening up a packet with a Rare Foil inside ($800 Jace the Mind Sculptor!) is very exciting.

So, feel free to use this thread however you want. Advice, discussion, whatever. I'd basically just like to hear more about the game. :)

Viva la Bluef.

Comments

• I've always been intrigued to a degree by MTG... but a lack of anyone in reasonable distance being playable(I lack real-world friends >P), has never really driven me enough to actually try and learn, play, or even purchase cards.

All I know about the game is that you don't get to say, "You've activated my trap card!"

... or do you?
    When Canada rules the world,
    things will be... nii~ice.
  • ValdusValdus Australia
    Whoops! I forgot to link the episode! This is the first, but in the second the guy actually does say that!

Viva la Bluef.
  • My friends and I played Magic all the time in the mid-90's until Ice Age came out. I really enjoyed both the collection and gaming aspect of it. I wish I still had the cards..I remember throwing down quite a bit for a couple of Legends packs which I bet would be quite rare now. Never did get that Black Lotus..
  • KresslackKresslack Florida, United States