Welcome to the Achaea Forums! Please be sure to read the Forum Rules.

Lowering the barrier of entry to Seafaring

Comments

• ZulahZulah Member Posts: 776 @ - Epic Achaean
    Penwize said:
     ship stasis
    Thank you. I've been dropping that line for 3 years. About time someone used it in a sentence.
    Sylvance
  • KresslackKresslack Florida, United StatesMember Posts: 6,336 @@ - Legendary Achaean
    Penwize said:
    Kinilan said:
    The problem with that Sena is that it takes out all the risk of seafaring. See a hostile ship and token away. You already paid for the ship so no big loss. Pretty much every city and house has ships for their members to use. If people have a hang up over using them and getting them damaged in some way that's their issue, not the systems.

Plus PoM charges far less than 50k to leave you alone for a day.
    I don't know, if the system is causing people to get hung up over potentially getting sunk, that IS the system's issue.  We need more people on the oceans, not less.

Though honestly if I were to prioritize what I'd like to see in seafaring to encourage people to sail more, I don't think lower cost ships would be on my list.  I think ship stasis would be the first and foremost on my list.  Because of seafaring's time requirement, and the nature of real life, sometimes you just have to drop what you're doing and leave for a while.  Seafaring is not conducive to that at all, compared to everything else in Achaea that is.
    The amount of rooms in which a ship could do this without another vessel/creature being nearby would have to be moderately large imo, otherwise it might be easily abused. Maybe also adding in a time delay and the same requirements for boarding/journal, etc before it can be completed ( not sure if Zulah already mentioned those).

• SilasSilas Member Posts: 2,607 @@ - Legendary Achaean