I want to roleplay, but there's so much lore to study! Where to start?

I'm not new to roleplaying, just new to this particular setting.
There's so much lore to read, I don't know where to begin!
It doesn't help that I have trouble reading long paragraphs without my brain skipping words over and over again (dyslexia?).

Just for reference, I'm a horkval bard.
I'm trying to read up on horkvals in the wiki, and that's helped a little bit....I want to know more about the horkvals' culture, their alliances (I assume they don't get along with Grooks and pondering if they worship or honor Aegis?) and the like however, and since I just started I don't think I can walk to where they are since I'm still a newbie.  

As for the bard part....uh....I'll worry about that after race.

I also like the idea of playing this character as gender-less (or I suppose identifying as gender-less) so I'm trying to figure out if there's a way to change their pronouns to be 'they/them' when another player looks at them.

And so with all of that...does anyone have any input on roleplaying a horkval bard?
Thank you!

Answers

• Short version, your character is pretty much identified by "he/she". You can try to RP that you're genderless, but nothing mechanically is going to change. Your description will forever start with "He/She is an insectoid horkval" or whatever the horkval line is. 
    As for race/class RP, due to some things in the game mechanically that allow people to change race/class pretty easily, not a lot of people actually RP their class, though a little more RP their race. The wiki is a good place to start, sure, but for more IC resources try finding a library and looking for some history in those. There's several very expansive and well-kept libraries in the game.
  • I'm the self-proclaimed leader of the Horkval race and there's a racial clan (The Great Phalanx).