Is there any compelling reason to use Mudlet over the Nexus client?

I am very new to Achaea and to MUDs in general (I've been trying to stick with a MUD for a long time, and this is the furthest I have got!).

I use the Nexus client to play the game, and have started to set up aliases and triggers etc to make the game more playable. I would really like to switch to Mudlet, but the complexity of setting up a play environment that could rival Nexus, and the fact that most of the premade GUIs for it don't work so well makes me reluctant to switch.

Is there any compelling reason to make the switch, or is it entirely down to player preference? I have read about curing systems that let you heal automatically etc, but there seems to be a server side curing system anyway that already does that?

Thanks for enabling newbie questions!

Comments

• Now that there's a map DB and lagless logging from the latest scrip contest, not really beyond more people knowing mudlet/lua than nexus/js.
  • ShirszaeShirszae Santo Domingo
    I still prefer mudlet, and most people you encounter are going to be familiar with mudlet instead of with Nexus. But Nexus is certainly fine too, and has come a long way. 

And you won't understand the cause of your grief...

...But you'll always follow the voices beneath.

• I think primarily access to scripts that are for mudlet.  Nexus is very nice and doesn't require the setup.
    Deucalion says, "Torinn is quite nice."
  • There used to be a lot of complaints about Nexus bogging down in large spammy fights. I don't know anybody who fights with Nexus, so I don't know if that problem has been resolved.
  • I haven't tested Zahan's map DB, but that was the largest drawback to using Nexus in the past.