Coding and Script help.

Hi all, I am brand new to Muds and have little to no experience with coding and script writing. I am interested in learning a little bit but honestly its all a bit overwhelming. Any recommendations on where to start?  

As a side note, I downloaded mudlet to try it out and quickly stopped using it. I was very lost, so I figure I should learn how a little coding to help myself out.

Comments

• First thing first, encouragement! I have no coding background at all. Achaea made me at least know how to code, and also makes me interests in coding. Achaea is the only place I get a chance to code. After all the learning and still learning, Now I am so automated. Glad you have intention to start learning, tell you what, it is damn fulfilling. 
  • Starting point: Pick a client. You mentioned that you stopped using Mudlet because you were lost, so I'll assume you're using the Nexus client from the website right now.

Nexus has a "simplified scripting" drag and drop-type editor for very simple scripts, but underlying code is written in JavaScript. Positives: There's a lot of documentation on the JavaScript language (and a lot of it is actually really good, too). Negatives: I don't know many people who are using Nexus, so I really have no idea how easy it is to get help with client-specific parts.

Mudlet can be pretty confusing when you first start out. The code is written in Lua. Positives: Most people I know use Mudlet, so it's easy to get support. Reasonably good documentation for both Mudlet itself and the Lua language. Negatives: No built-in GUI so you'd have to either download and install one made by somebody else or make your own. No simplified scripting tools.

Both clients should have clans in-game which you can join to get help with them; CLHELP NEXUS and CLHELP MUDLET. Mudlet also has an introductory guide on making basic aliases and such: https://wiki.mudlet.org/w/Manual:Introduction I don't know if Nexus has something similar.