Phrase-ology and anachronisms

I'm a nurse IRL so when I hear the term "prone" I'm supposed to imagine someone face down, lips glued to the floor. The medical term for what I actually envision is "supine", lying on your back with eyes to the stars. Instead of me reinforcing real life into my gaming world, I've found myself at work second-guessing the correct terminology because my dopey mind learned it here imagining incorrectly first.

Not here, but another IRE game, I started incorporating words like "hence" and "discern" into IRL conversations. NOT INTENTIONALLY. I wish I could say hilarity ensued (haha "ensued" is another one!) but usually I was met with genuinely worried glances.

Anyone else had embarassing moments?

Comments

• Ages ago in high school, I nearly got in trouble for calling the first-year French students neophytes. Thankfully the French teacher knew what the word meant, but for about five seconds I was the subject of around twenty scrunch-nosed, brow-furrowed glares.

Then there was one time I was assessing a rather shoddily put together group project as an instructor's aide. The group was floundering for time and eventually said that they were nearly ready. In a rather sarcastic, joking manner(and sans Rocky Horror pause), I said "Oh I'm quivering in anticipation." I'll never forget the confused, deer-in-the-headlights look they all gave me.

More in line with Achaean terminology though, I was explaining how to troubleshoot code one time and said something along the lines of, "You'll want to comment one section out at a time to discern where your problem lies" and someone in the group looked at me and asked in that sort of innocent manner that denotes genuine ignorance what discern meant. Turns out they thought I was using an acronym of some sort.
  • Xideron said: