Roleplaying with English as a third language?

I'm a 19 year old fennoswede (Swedish is my mothertongue, finnish is my second language) who loves roleplaying games. I've tried a couple of tabletop RPG's with a tight group of friends over the years, but I am always the most "interested" person in our group (sadly). I've tried playing Achaea many times over the past 7-8 years (I've probably made twentyish characters) and I always tend to play multiple hours a day for a couple of days/weeks before I suicide that character. This is solely because of one thing: my difficulties in RP'ing ing English.

I wouldn't say that I'm absolutely terrible at the English language (feel free to correct me, however) and if it's just me and another player I can manage the conversations fairly well but whenever I'm in a RP situation where there's more than me and one other person (three or more) I tend to freeze and I have no clue what to say. This might just be because I'm a MUD noob, but I'd genuinely like to hear if anyone else has had this issue (especially if English is not your first language!). I've had a great time so far though, and it seems like this character will stick around for a while. Who knows though.

I'll stop now before this question/rant gets too long-winded, though. Thanks for reading.

Comments

• My English is limited, I don't really understand most of the items and room description. But I do Google define many times when I am really interested to know about it. RP wise, I personally don't like RP... I actually don't understand the meaning or scope of RP. Like I have to pretend to be something? Nvm... So I can't recognise RP events. I find myself usually hunting, trading and fighting. 
  • Dochitha said: