Achaea Combat Explained..

I hate to be this guy.. but I need some help.

I played just a bit of Imperian, and moved here after discovering a much larger playerbase. I have no past experience in text-based RPGs, so when people are talking about optimizing scripts for attacking I get very confused. I'm a programmer, so the act of writing scripts isn't intimidating to me at all, but I'm just trying to grasp what "scripts" do for you in combat related situations? I'm assuming it's similar to the autocuring system, except that it attacks your enemies based on certain variables?

If anyone could either A) Provide me a resource for learning Achaea PvP combat in general (how it works, what scripts do, why you use them, etc) or B) Explain to me the basics that I need to know to get on my feet, I'd be eternally grateful. I was unaware of the learning curve these text-based RPG games provide, but I'm finding it quite entertaining.

Comments

• Scripting depends, really.

Some people use them to do everything. Their scripts track the afflictions their enemy has and choose their next afflictions they deliver without any input from the user. They track their own afflictions and they change their own healing automatically. Some people think that's cheap and lame and so they use minimal scripting, preferring to track all that stuff themselves.

Basically as long as you are not violating HELP AUTOMATION you can script practically anything you want, and in a text-based game that's practically everything. Once you actually try a few fights and experience it, you'll see what you want to script. 
  • Broad brushes;

You will probably work through 2-4 iterations of your system/scripts as you learn combat.

I would start by learning what the kill-path for your class is.

Miniaturise input commands via scripts/macros.

Practice it.

Write code to modify (and unmodify) curing against the common things (used by all fighters) that will stop you from achieving that kill path.

Practice it.