Tips for RPing as a newbie in Mhaldor.

Hi, I recently started playing again after a hiatus. I never played much before hand, but I did buy some lessons and my toon was never deleted. Anyways, I'm enjoying my time back. Exploring the lore and talking to people is pretty fun. The only problem I have is that well I don't know how to act to be honest. Mostly I ask questions or talk about my progress. I really want to get deeper into it, but I'm having troubles getting passed a kind of wall.

I made a kind of back story for my character. She always has grown up poor and envied the rich. After hearing about stories of Mhaldor on about the kind of power superiors had over slaves, she made her way over there. Arryne's goals are more personal. Her true end goal is to have major power, doing anything she can to rise up. I might change this depending on what you guys suggest. 

Comments

• Silence, slave.

[ SnB PvP Guide | Link ]

[ Runewarden Sparring Videos | Link ]
  • edited June 2016
    Best tips I have are: 

Treat every punishment as a challenge to work through it and show your best side. Often they are, so if it seems unfair and you rebel at that it's not going to end well. Even if they aren't, well you're not going to lose any points taking the high ground and following it through.

Know that while people may be criticising, belittling or insulting you IC, they probably don't even think badly of you OOC, it's RP, an act.

Get out there, do stuff. If you get told off, listen to what's said, apologise, and try something different next time. If you get punished, take it. The worst thing you can do is argue or fight against superiors.

If a Troni or similar 'not much above slave' rank tries to punish you and you think it's unfair, take it to their superiors. Odds are they're acting out of turn.