[Nexus] Temp Timer Help

edited March 2016 in Client Help
Hi! I'm a total noob to Nexus as I'm a mudlet user but trying to help someone who uses Nexus. Any way to make an echo or something appear every minute or so through Nexus like you can in Mudlet?

tempTimer(math.random(30,120) [[send("Wild Pikachu Appears")]])

Any help is appreciated!

Comments

• JavaScript has the setTimeout function that can be used to delay arbitrary code by a specified amount of time. You'd use it like this:

var myTimeout = setTimeout(X, function() {
        // your code here, I don't know what the Nexus equivalent of send is
    });

There's also setInterval which works in much the same way, but will repeat the passed function repeatedly on the interval specified, rather than a single time like setTimeout.

Note: You can pass a string of code to setTimeout, but you really, really shouldn't.

• Antonius said:

JavaScript has the setTimeout function that can be used to delay arbitrary code by a specified amount of time. You'd use it like this:

var myTimeout = setTimeout(X, function() {
        // your code here, I don't know what the Nexus equivalent of send is
    });

There's also setInterval which works in much the same way, but will repeat the passed function repeatedly on the interval specified, rather than a single time like setTimeout.

Note: You can pass a string of code to setTimeout, but you really, really shouldn't.

So this works for the new Nexus client? Like they could add in an emote to go off every 5 minutes for like.. Ambience or something? Kinda like what Morthif does with Orthold (spelling?)
  • edited March 2016
    The Nexus client is just JavaScript and setTimeout is a normal JavaScript function.

You pass it a time (in milliseconds) and a function to run at the end of that time.

So you can either just define an anonymous function inside it like Antonius has or even pass it a function defined elsewhere.