So long, farewell

edited July 2015 in North of Thera

Right, then. The content of this post has been long in the making thought-wise, but as I've recently been toying more and more with the idea of putting it into written form, here we go.

I started playing Achaea at a relatively young age - somewhere in my early teens - and I was quick to become completely fascinated by the whole concept, the storyline, the atmosphere and the fact that what happened in the game was largely thought out and orchestrated by other players - real people. I spent hours reading through room descriptions and in-game books, as well as being completely spellbound by the structure of guilds and cities and the hierarchy and community associated with them. Somehow, I came to view the characters and the persons behind them as my elders - which I suspect they also were - and it brought with it a perhaps slightly strange but also welcome feeling of being fostered, as my character was taken in by organizations in the game and I became better at reading and understanding the English language and practiced interacting with others. In fact, the reading and writing bit probably remains one of the most positive effects that Achaea has had on me personally, as a non-native English speaker.

Today, I'm 26 and have played as a few different characters, of which Autio has been one of the most recent. As I've grown a bit older I've found myself valuing different parts of the game more and more, namely the interaction with other players and the thrill of being a part of a cooperative narrative. However, I've also found that my enjoyment of the game and what I am able to put into it has turned out to be more correlated to how much available time I have to dedicate than I would like to imagine. It's not a terribly uplifting conclusion to arrive at, but simply put - I don't have the time any more.