Lock Speed

Alright. I'm actually starting to understand Alchemist, but I keep running into this snag - basically, I can't figure out how to bypass the long startup time of tempering Sanguine up to acceptable levels. This almost doubles my lock time, and I'd love to get a way around it or through it, but I can't see what I'm supposed to do.

And I don't have trans weaponry either, so just jabbing curare is out.

Comments

• I'm by no means an expert on alchemist combat, but isn't slower lock time the entire point of having to build up tempers in the first place?

I mean, isn't that like a serpent saying "I'm tired of having to use hypnosis, how can I just not bother with that nonsense".

From what I've seen, if it weren't for the build-up momentum, alchemists would be able to lock people in like, a few seconds.
  • Mostly it's just in comparison to a faster class, like Shaman. I can lock in 55~ seconds but I just feel like I'm missing a better way to do it.
  • edited January 2015

I mean, a lock == a kill.  What other class can consistently kill in 55 seconds*?  See where I'm going here?

* assuming your opponent doesn't make rudimentary mistakes.
  • Why sanguine to lock?
  • Jovolo said:
    Why sanguine to lock?
    So she can truewrack with paralysis.

You can wrack paralysis without sanguine, though.
  • edited January 2015
    That's my point. 

1) You don't need paralysis if you're tempering Choleric, and if they do tree out of the lock then they can't tree again for another 15 seconds, 20 if they have expert diagnoser. 

2) If you use truewrack to stick any other buffer afflictions (such as clumsiness and sensitivity), then you lower the chance of paralysis even curing them out of the lock in the first place by a significant amount. This makes sticking paralysis less important, especially when you factor in point #1 - Tree is almost useless if you manage to temper Choleric to three or four fluid levels.